1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I am so new to this ~ Networking

Discussion in 'Networking' started by krazymama, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. krazymama

krazymama Thread Starter

:confused:OK I am not sure if this can even be done, but I thought I would ask. I live in a rural area and cannot get Cable or DSL. Until last October I had dial up. I bought a Dell Inspiron1720 laptop with a wireless card and I have wireless boradband now. I love it. BUT All the other computers in my home are still on dial up and someone suggested that I route the signal from my laptop to the other two PCs in my home. IS that possible and how would I do it? Thanks for your help.

2. Lykele

Lykele

Since I've come here myself for help I am far from an expert in the field, but I'll give you my 2 cents.

I always think of a wireless router like a radio station transmitter. A signal is sent out. If I came to your house with my laptop that is capable of receiving this signal then I could connect along with you. But in your case the other 2 computers don't have the means to receive this signal.

You could plug in to a USB port, on the other computers, a Wireless G USB Adapter. Kinda looks like an antenna if you set it up in a stand they sometime give you. NOW, suddenly, your other computers have a way of capturing the signal that the wireless router is sending out.

If any of the other computers have an Ethernet plug in it, I would guess you could hard wire it directly to the router itself.

Here is a link to such an item as I've mentioned that I used myself. But I don't know of anyway to share your signal directly from the laptop.

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=179211

Jim

3. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name: