I beg you.....How do i change my ip?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Is there a router between your cable modem and your PC? You should be automatically be getting the IP address from your router or cable modem.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
255
Or else when you bought your internet connection your isp should have given you your ip address. If they didnt then select Obtain an Ip address automatically
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Virtually all cable ISP's automatically assign you an IP address, you don't get to select it or change it.
 

kris78164

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
107
Well............I remember once when i dissconected my computer for about 2 days i hot a new ip.....But i dont have the choice to do that now...because the internet is importent use in my house.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
I was recently debugging a different router configuration, and I connected it to my Comcast account. I got a different IP address, apparently because this was a different MAC address. When I reconnected my router after I was done, my IP address returned to the previous value that I have had for months.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
kris78164,

There are two different IP addressing being referred to and I think that may be what is causing the confusion.

You cable modem will be getting the Internet Public IP address. There isn't too much you can typically do about that. You may or may not be keeping your same Internet IP address.

The link you showed, is your private LAN IP address. I you have a router, then that will typically be the IP address from your router (assuming it is configured for DHCP and your computer is configured to obtain an IP address automatically). If you want to manually enter in your LAN IP address, you can do that as well.
 

kris78164

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
107
ya you know how you say mannualy put it....do i randomly make a ip number
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Manually and Randomly are two different things.

If the computer, when connected to the router, networks and can get to the Internet ok, then if you want you can manually enter in the same IP address information is it getting automatically.

To find out what you have now, open up a DOS window and run IPCONFIG /ALL. The information you need to enter manually is the IP address, subnet mask, gateway and DNS address.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
kris78164,

Is there a specific problem you are trying to solve by manually entering in the IP information or is this more of an exercise for learning.
 

kris78164

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
107
Yes.....I play a game called soldier of fourtune.....and i got banned off a server...beacuse i made fun of the ldr.But my freind said that i can change my ip.And i no lonnger will be banned
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Well, your friend was wrong, at least for 99% of the ISP's on the planet. I'm not inclined to help people get around proper restrictions put in place for bad behavior anyway. I suggest you follow standard rules of etiquette for the server you're playing through next time, and this will cease to be an issue. :rolleyes: (n)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
You would need your external IP changed then. So, the answer to your question "How do I change my IP?" is that YOU can't. You external IP is given to you by your ISP. You can try calling them and ask them to assign you a differnet one or you can likely just wait awhile because most ISP assign IPs for a specific leasing period. Once the lease is up, you may be assigned a new IP.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Glad I asked the question. Seemed like there was more going on that was apparent from the first post.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top