1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I broke my TV Tuner's cable tv input -- HELP!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by quantass, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. quantass

quantass Thread Starter

I own a Zoltrix TV Max PCI tv tuner capture card for Windows 98. The video card is old and always had a loose cable-TV coax cable input. The cable TV input finally snapped off leaving me without tv on my desktop. I decided to open up the unit and found the connector had its back-end, rigid metal wire severed due to excessive twisting from the cable tv wire (the severed metal connected to the PCB stands vertical perpendicular to the board while the severed coax input end has a protrudng horizontal end). Even though I've never done this before but I was thinking about repairing the unit myself with a soldering iron?!

Is this how I'd go about repairing the Zoltrix TV Max cable input connector? The area to be repaired is incredibly tiny. Perhaps there are tools for reconnecting such a small broken area? BTW the outter metal is grayish, however the breakage area shows what seems to be a more copper-ish color on the inside.

Thanks.

2. Perfesser

Perfesser

This shouldn't be too difficult with the right tools. The connector is a standard TV 'F' connector, isn't it?
    If it is you should be able to solder the wire back to the pin - might need to solder a short 'extension' onto it to get it to reach the connector.
    Go to Radio Shack and get a small soldering iron; 25 watts with a small tip will be enough; get some fine solder and don't overheat the work when you solder it back. It sounds like the connector is loose in the backplate or it wouldn't have twisted the wire off.

3. quantass

quantass Thread Starter