1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I can connect to access point, but the internet cannot be found - wireless problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by youngen, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. youngen

    youngen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Hi guys, I am trying to connect my laptop to wireless internet via an adsl modem plugged into a linksys speedbooster wireless router. I used this same router in my dorm room when I was living on campus and had no problems at all accessing the internet but now back at home I cannot get connected to the internet.

    It says that I am connected to the access point, but that the Internet cannot be found. If anyone could help me figure this out I would appreciate it so much!

    Here is my ipconfig from the laptop:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Claire>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Larry
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-39-30-EB-EA

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless-G Notebook Adapter WPC54G V
    3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-BF-E6-C1-60
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 20 January 2007 8:38:35 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 21 January 2007 8:38:35 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DUB-E100 USB 2.0 to Fast Ethe
    rnet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-C8-38-26-1A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.7
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 20 January 2007 8:47:03 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 19 February 2007 8:47:03 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Claire>



    And this is the ipconfig /all of the working PC:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Claire>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peter
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-87-ED-79-9B

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dynalink RTA100+ USB
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-85-A0-01-01-04
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 20 January 2007 8:44:29 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 19 February 2007 8:44:29 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Claire>
     
  2. youngen

    youngen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I just tried pinging 192.168.1.1 on laptop and pc and both work. However, when I try to ping 66.94.234.13 with the laptop it doesnt work, it times out. Dont know if that is helpful at all but trying to provide as much info as I know...
     
  3. youngen

    youngen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    anyone??
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Do you know the IP address for your Linksys router? I see your laptop is getting an IP address from 192.168.1.1, and your working PC is getting it's IP address from 192.168.1.2.

    It looks like one or the other is connecting to a different network.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,834
    First Name:
    Terry
    Ditto on what Frank4d said. This could happen if the ADSL modem is an ADSL modem/router combo, which gives you two Dhcp servers. Sometimes this configuration will work if you use different subnets for the two LANs.

    Note that your non-working PC got its wireless IP configuration from, I assume, the wireless router while getting its wired configuration from what I assume is the modem/router combo. From your symptom I assume that it is wired to the wireless router or else the wired connection is a slower nominal speed than the wireless.
     
  6. youngen

    youngen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I just checked and I do have an ADSL modem/router combo. No my PC is working fine because I am running it via wired internet. It is my laptop that isnt working. Do I have to change the settings somehow to get them running on the same network? And if so how?
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    You could go to Network Connections > Properties (for your network connection) > Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties and manually set an IP address and DNS server. The problem with doing so is that you could set an IP address that would conflict with another, causing more headaches.

    Did you see my post asking if you know the IP address of your Linksys Router? Because your "ipconfig /all" indicates the laptop is getting an IP address, but it is not from the same router your desktop PC is getting it's IP addrress from.

    When you click on the network connection on your laptop, does it show it is connected to your own network name (or another one)?
     
  8. youngen

    youngen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I am pretty sure the ip address for the linksys router is 192.168.1.1 - at least that it what I type in to explorer to open up the router config page.

    Yep I am connected to my network name, because there is only one other wireless network around and it is locked.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,834
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you change the LAN address on the Linksys router to another subnet, say 192.168.0.1, it may work. You will still have two Dhcp servers but most times that will not cause a problem. If that doesn't work, or you want the far superior solution, configure the Linksys as a switch and wireless access point via JohnWill's oft-posted procedure.

    Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.1.2 through 192.168.1.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.1.254 as it's IP address.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!
     
  10. Folk70

    Folk70

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    So, I was having exactly the same problem. I just realized that the SSID for my network was spelled slightly different in the Router configuration and in my computer configuration. A minor error ("linksys11182" and "Linksys1182"), allowed me to connect wireless to the router but would not grant me internet access. Make sure the name in the computer matches the name in the router, as it is case-sensitive. Good luck!
    (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536793

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice