Solved I cant connect to certain websites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MeepWagon

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
6
Like.. ive been trying things from different forums and like everytime i go to store.steampowered.com or something, it tells me that it times out. And i dont know anything about internet things and just want this fixed.
 

RT

Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Messages
11,919
Hello, and welcome to TSG.
Be glad to help you if you could clarify your issues a bit more.
The link you gave goes to Steam, have you installed the software, and created an account?
Do you wish to play a game using Steam?
But you can't access the game?
If so, this might be better addressed in the Games forum.

Many sites will time you out if there has been no activity on it for certain amount of time. I personally have never had that happen with Steam.
Also it would be helpful if we knew your system specs, so run this:
https://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
 

MeepWagon

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
6
Hello, and welcome to TSG.
Be glad to help you if you could clarify your issues a bit more.
The link you gave goes to Steam, have you installed the software, and created an account?
Do you wish to play a game using Steam?
But you can't access the game?
If so, this might be better addressed in the Games forum.

Many sites will time you out if there has been no activity on it for certain amount of time. I personally have never had that happen with Steam.
Also it would be helpful if we knew your system specs, so run this:
https://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe
Here are my specs
----------------------
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 8061 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (906 GB Free);
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0C27VV
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
-----------------------
And i cant access the steam website all together (as for other websites too), it just says connecting until it times out. Other sites like Youtube work though.

On a sidenote i think it should be mentioned im plugged in via ethernet and my desktop is the only one that has this problem, my laptop can go to any website.
 

RT

Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Messages
11,919
Thank you for that information, as well as the side note!

Are you using the same connection and browser with your laptop and desk top?
Try a different browser on the desk unit, such as Firefox or Chrome
 
Last edited:

MeepWagon

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
6
Like i said, the desktop is connected via ethernet. However the laptop is connected via wifi. (Same internet though)

And they are both using google chrome.
 

MeepWagon

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
6
i would, but i get this message. Probably because programs (like minecraft, but oddly not discord) dont get internet.
 

Attachments

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,344
It's possible you are having DNS issues on this particular computer so some software. Is your ISP Suddenlink?

Couple things to try on the affected computer = in command prompt, type the following:

ping abc.com
ping 199.181.132.250
ping 192.168.0.1

If the first one fails but the others do not, then we are looking at DNS issues.
 

MeepWagon

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
6
It's possible you are having DNS issues on this particular computer so some software. Is your ISP Suddenlink?

Couple things to try on the affected computer = in command prompt, type the following:

ping abc.com
ping 199.181.132.250
ping 192.168.0.1

If the first one fails but the others do not, then we are looking at DNS issues.
i actually found out port 80 was being blocked via the router firewall, thanks though.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top