1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

i can't connect to the internet even though I have wifi

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Kirino, Nov 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Ever since something happened I keep on getting this error and I can't log in to any online services please help me. Thanks in advance.
    I'm currently using windows 8.1 and it keeps saying " Exception ESocketError in module ISHelper.exe at 000F14DB"
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsor

  3. xekoz2

    xekoz2

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Have you tried googling the error code?
     
  4. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Yes I have done that but it seems like there is nothing related to it
     
  5. Hamphoeby

    Hamphoeby

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    The issue could be due to some third party programs causing the issue. I would suggest you to perform clean boot.
     
  6. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I don't think it's that error that it's affecting it now as after doing a clean boot the error still persists
     
  7. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,442
    Try using another browser. Or perhaps your browser is out of date.

    I googled and it says ISHelper is part of iSkySoft Studio.
    Do you have this program ? .
     
  8. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Yes I have the program and after disabling it I still can't go into any online services I think it is something else
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,442
    If you are using Internet Explorer, try starting it without any add-ons. I think that choice is under Accessories.

    Are you able to go online at all, eg. connect to google.com or yahoo.com ?
     
  10. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I am not able to go online at all
     
  11. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,442
    Open a command prompt, and type in "ipconfig /all" and copy and paste the results in the next reply. Need to see each adaptor's configuration.
     
  12. Kirino

    Kirino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Users
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-A8-1D-01-B2-FA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DWA-140 Wireless N USB Adapter(rev
    .B3)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-A8-1D-01-B2-F8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ac8c:7221:b267:9be5%4(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 28 November 2015 10:13:53 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 28 November 2015 6:13:55 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 180660253
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-A7-1D-CD-BC-EE-7B-8D-8D-30

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-EE-7B-8D-8D-30
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-27-00-98-EB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ddf7:61e8:6365:9013%6(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352845863
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-A7-1D-CD-BC-EE-7B-8D-8D-30

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    C:\Users\User>
     
  13. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,442
    Lets see if you can reach your router. That the first leg of the jouney from your machine to the internet. Open a cmd prompt and type "ping 192.168.1.254"
    copy and paste that output please.

    Then type "ping google.com", copy and paste that output also.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1161102

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice