1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I cant connect to wifi with a password

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tacman93, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tacman93

    tacman93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    My laptop is running on:

    Microsoft XP~professional
    version 2002
    service pack 3

    intel(R) pro wireless lan 2100 3b mini pci adapter
    Firmware~ 1.2.5.37

    And the problem I'm having is that i cant connect to any wifi with a password on it. Any other device works perfectly fine and the password is correct.

    Also, when a Ethernet wire is connected i can connect to the wireless connection with no problem...

    help?..
     
  2. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    is this a new network, have you accessed the net wi fi before ok?
     
  3. tacman93

    tacman93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    No, my old laptop connected fine it's only my new one, also I notice that when it's trying to connect I have nonip address but pakets are being sent and resived
     
  4. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    is there a separate switch on the computer for turning off/on the internet ?
     
  5. tacman93

    tacman93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    No, I can connect to wifi without passwords tho.
     
  6. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    mismatched encryption type?
     
  7. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    yep crossed my mind too,maybe setup new networks.
    Toughy.
    Its late here I'll sleep on it
     
  8. tacman93

    tacman93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    how...?
     
  9. oksteve

    oksteve

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    Try switching off any firewall you have.

    Hard wire to your router and check to see if you have mac addresses set up.
    What is the make and model of your router and what type of security is being used, wep or wpa?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918626

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice