Solved I can't download Discord

Luanr

Whenever I try to open the discord startup thing this message appears: the procedure entry point setdefaultdlldirectories could not be located kernel32.dll
I am not very good at computer things, I tried following a youtube video but it did not work and now I don't know what to do. Please help me!

On Windows 7 you need to download and install KB4457144 from Microsoft's Update Catalog.

If you're running the 32-bit version of Windows 7, you want the download labeled:
  • 2018-09 Security Monthly Quality Rollup for Windows 7 for x86-based Systems (KB4457144)
If you're running the 64-bit version of Windows 7, you want the download labeled:
  • 2018-09 Security Monthly Quality Rollup for Windows 7 for x64-based Systems (KB4457144)

--

How to determine if you're running the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows 7

Click the Start button > right-click Computer and select Properties. Under System see the System Type option under the Item column. The associated value, in the Value column, will indicate if it is 32- or 64-bit. "x86" is 32-bit, "x64" is 64-bit.

For example, this screenshot is showing "x64" which is 64-bit:

Luanr

So I downloaded it like 2 times then something else came up and said something abt I might have to restart, so I did, and something updated. I'm back now and it still doesn't work.

1601388094798.png
This was the first thing that appeared and I tried both?
This was before I restarted btw

Last edited:

Luanr

I can't upgrade to windows 10, I've been told my pc won't be able to handle it. I was able to have it before but I factory reset it recently because of space problems and now it doesn't work anymore.
1601389722319.png
Do you think my pc could handle it though?

You only need a 1GHz CPU (yours is 2.90 GHz), and for the 64-bit version of Windows you need 2 GB of RAM (yours has 4 GB).

As far as space needed on the Hard Disk Drive (HDD)/Solid State Drive (SSD), the 64-bit version needs 20 GB.