1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I can't get Mcafee off my PC

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by wick1959, Nov 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wick1959

    wick1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Does any one have any answers for me.
    I have tried regedit several times and that hasn't worked:(
    I have downloaded and tried the McAfee product removal tool, didn't work:(
    and it wont delete from add remove progs either:mad:
    I amk getting very very stressed with this cos I cant load my norton protection till
    McAfee has left the building:confused:
    Please help some one:(
     
  2. t bone

    t bone

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    hi
    if you have the disc, try to reinstall mcafee and then try to uninstall, i know it's a pain but,
    that's been known to work...especially if you've messed with the registry on it.

    you could try a system restore also to get back there...

    if you go this route make sure u shut mcafee down before trying to uninstall.

    (norton?...of the 2 it's my least favorite, had em both, now use nod32)
     
  3. golferbob

    golferbob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,895
    that don't sound like a step forward going from mcafee to norton.
     
  4. wick1959

    wick1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Norton came with the bt total broadband package, so i may as well put it all on, but I can't do with things half installed, you know what i mean:)

    anyway my mcafee expired and is to expensive to replace:(
    I was told norton was good actually, whats wrong with it:confused:

    T bone tried all that it just wont shift, I am thinking a total system wipe and reinstall from scratch, bugger!
     
  5. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Reinstall McAfee, bootup in safe mode (Hit F8 while booting) then uninstall with Add/Remove programs and reboot.

    If there's anything left over run the McAfee product removal tool again.
     
  6. wick1959

    wick1959 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Stantley anything is worth a try at this point
     
  7. t bone

    t bone

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    i know it's a pain but sometimes a os reinstall is the quickest way to go.

    make sure you make copies of all important stuff on cd or a external drive
    also that you have the discs or copies of your fav. progs. along with any of the registration numbers and stuff like that


    norton prob. is good but uses too many system resources for me
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/650628

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice