1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved I can't turn back on windows defender

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Serge2012, May 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Hi,

    Recently my laptop was infected by some malware and I used various programs to remove the infections "Malwarebytes, Eset online scanner and AdwCleaner" but now I can't turn back Windows Defender (I'm on Windows 10) and each time I try I get the message "This app is turned off by group policy". What should I do?

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Serge
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    lease download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop or downloads folder.

    Note: You need to download and run the 64 bit version

    • Right click to run as administrator. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
    • Please copy and paste log back here.
    • The first time the tool is run it generates another log (Addition.txt - also located in the same directory/folder/place as FRST.exe/FRST64.exe). Please also paste that along with the FRST.txt into your reply.
     
  3. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply and sorry for the little delay to answer you. Well, I've just tried that and I get the screen Windows Defender Interface then I click "yes" and get the same message "This app is turned off...".

    I want to give you a little bit more information about the status of my laptop. I've noticed that now it runs slower on startup and it takes a while to load my favorites but after I can use the internet and don't have any issues. However I've noticed that when I use some programs sometimes they freezes and I have to close them with task manager. Also in Recovery Manager when I click on "restore at earlier date" nothing happens... I even tried to restore at earlier date from the boot menu and I got the message that there no restore point was created. I thought each time I run updates a restore point is created...

    I wait for your reply and thanks again.

    Serge
     
  4. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    I also want to add that when I do a search on Google I get redirected to Bing... Weird!
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    are you saying you cannot download or run FRST so we can get logs and se what is wrong
     
  6. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    I know... Is there another way to find out what is going on? What about with "command prompt"? I don't think it's only about Windows Defender not working, there must be some kind of malware/virus on my computer... I'm running Malwarebytes now but it's going to take a while
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    What problems do you get trying to run FRST
    Can you download it ?
    YES or NO

    Once it is downloaded does it run or does something block it, If it is blocked what message do you get
     
  8. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    I can't get to scan!... I followed your instructions. After I clicked Yes on "do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device" I get stuck again with the same message "This app is turned off..."

    I'm running Malwarebytes and Superantispyware" now and may be I'll find something...
     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    You shouldn't have any prompts to turn on or OFF Defender when running FRST
    You might get a UAC prompt saying some thing like asking for admin approval to run
     
  10. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Sorry I don't think I was very awake today... The scan is working now and I will paste the log text later
     
  11. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Ok! I attached both reports underneath
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Here's also the report from Superantispyware
     

    Attached Files:

  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    Download attached fixlist.txt file and save it to your Downloads Folder.

    NOTE. It's important that both files, FRST/FRST64 and fixlist.txt are in the same location or the fix will not work.

    NOTICE: This script was written specifically for this user, for use on that particular machine. Running this on another machine may cause damage to your operating system

    • Open FRST/FRST64 by right clicking the icon and select run as Administrator ( in the same way you did the first time)
    • Do NOT press scan instead press the Fix button just once and wait.
    • If for some reason the tool needs a restart, please make sure you let the system restart normally. After that let the tool complete its run.
    • When finished FRST will generate a log on the Desktop (Fixlog.txt).
    • Please post the fixlog.txt to your reply.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Serge2012

    Serge2012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    165
    Here's the log, actually it generated that log not on my desktop but in the same folder where I had FRST64 and Fixlist.txt. By the way I don't see much information on this log...
     

    Attached Files:

  15. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,224
    First Name:
    Derek
    looks like it didn't generate the report properly
    please run FRST again & make sure you select addition txt in the additional scans section

    post the 2 new logs
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1209637

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice