1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I don't know what kind of processor i have?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by happywedgal, Oct 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. happywedgal

    happywedgal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Where do I find what kind of processor i have? Where does my pc tell me this at? I can't find it in control panel or anywhere. Help me!
     
  2. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    right mouse click on the 'My Computer' icon. Click properties and it will give u some info on ur comp, including ur processor.

    p.s welcome to tsg
     
  3. 700mb80min

    700mb80min Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    I use Belarc for all my system information.:)
     
  4. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Right click on My Computer in the dialog box select properties and it's right there on the general tab.
     
  5. brindle

    brindle

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,520
    Another option is AdAware , it will give you loads of info about your computer.
    Please let us know if your tried aida32 and belarc.
     
  6. happywedgal

    happywedgal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Okay - i clicked on the my computer and this is what is says:

    GenuineIntel
    x86 Family 6 Model Stepping 10

    Translation anyone?
     
  7. dzones

    dzones

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    a better way is to go to your RUN option.
    type
    dxdiag
    the windows that pops up will tell you how much ram and your exact processor type and speed.
    if you notice the tabs at the top you will see a video tab where you can find out what kind of video you have with how much ram also.
    Dave
     
  8. 700mb80min

    700mb80min Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    dzones , try my belarc post or the aida32 from brindle. Both will tell you what you need .:)
     
  9. dzones

    dzones

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    700mb80min
    Yep I saw that post and know the program (belarc) but i like using an option that does not require me to download and/or install anything on my machine.
    the fastest way to your processor speed/type is with dxdiag.
     
  10. 700mb80min

    700mb80min Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,025
    Sorry dzones , had you mixed up with happy . What i do on a regular basis is to go with belarc and print a copy and file it , and i also like your dxdiag suggestion , thanks .:)
     
  11. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,270
    I use wcpuid which also gives the specs on fsb and multiplier.
     
  12. dzones

    dzones

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Yep I know both your and mobo's programs of choice and i know both of them are good at what they do.
    I was just trying to give happy a choice is all.
    no worries
    ;)
     
  13. happywedgal

    happywedgal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks so much everyone! I did the dxdiag and it told me exactly what I needed! The belarc thing was good too.

    I really appreciate all ya'lls help!
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171187