I don't know what kind of processor i have?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

happywedgal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
3
Where do I find what kind of processor i have? Where does my pc tell me this at? I can't find it in control panel or anywhere. Help me!
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
511
right mouse click on the 'My Computer' icon. Click properties and it will give u some info on ur comp, including ur processor.

p.s welcome to tsg
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2003
Messages
3,956
Right click on My Computer in the dialog box select properties and it's right there on the general tab.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Messages
3,520
Another option is AdAware , it will give you loads of info about your computer.
Please let us know if your tried aida32 and belarc.
 

happywedgal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
3
Okay - i clicked on the my computer and this is what is says:

GenuineIntel
x86 Family 6 Model Stepping 10

Translation anyone?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
57
a better way is to go to your RUN option.
type
dxdiag
the windows that pops up will tell you how much ram and your exact processor type and speed.
if you notice the tabs at the top you will see a video tab where you can find out what kind of video you have with how much ram also.
Dave
 

700mb80min

Banned
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
2,025
dzones , try my belarc post or the aida32 from brindle. Both will tell you what you need .:)
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
57
700mb80min
Yep I saw that post and know the program (belarc) but i like using an option that does not require me to download and/or install anything on my machine.
the fastest way to your processor speed/type is with dxdiag.
 

700mb80min

Banned
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
2,025
Sorry dzones , had you mixed up with happy . What i do on a regular basis is to go with belarc and print a copy and file it , and i also like your dxdiag suggestion , thanks .:)
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2003
Messages
57
Yep I know both your and mobo's programs of choice and i know both of them are good at what they do.
I was just trying to give happy a choice is all.
no worries
;)
 

happywedgal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
3
Thanks so much everyone! I did the dxdiag and it told me exactly what I needed! The belarc thing was good too.

I really appreciate all ya'lls help!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top