1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I don't understand this

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Rshake20, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rshake20

    Rshake20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    I plan on installing Damn Small Linux on my old Windows ME computer tonight. I checked on wiki and it told me that I have to download the dsl-x.x.x.iso, dsl-x.x.x-syslinux.iso and the dsl-x.x.x-embedded.zip. Do I have to download all of this on my blank cd? I plan on making my own Live CD. This is my first time playing around with Linux.
     
  2. RobLinux

    RobLinux

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Look at :

    http://damnsmalllinux.org/wiki/inde...are_Minimum_Requirements_for_it_with_X-window

    What File do I download?
    A. dsl-x.x.x.iso
    B. dsl-x.x.x-syslinux.iso
    C. dsl-x.x.x-embedded.zip

    Use <A> for most things. If your board supports booting from a CD-ROM, but <A> does not work for you, try <B>.
    Use <C> to run DSL inside of a host OS (Winblows or Linux).

    It is saying download A. dsl-x.x.x.iso
    and only get B. if a doesn't work.

    C is for use inside VMware or another virtualised sandbox system.

    I didn't try DSL in end, cos' it's aims didn't match mine so well, and Puppy Linux looked more interesting for a really tiny low power ultra quiet linux system, avoiding noisy disk drive, fans etc.
     
  3. Rshake20

    Rshake20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Oh ok. Thanks for the reply.I hope it works.I plan on installing Linux on my old computer tonight.
     
  4. Rshake20

    Rshake20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    This Live CD works on my old Windows Me Computer but it's not working on my Windows XP Pro Computer. It won't boot. I was holding down the A button when I put the CD in.Do I do something wrong?
     
  5. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    20,583
    Hi Rshake20,

    The first thing to do is to check your BIOS to assure yourself that the boot order indicates that the CD drive is first in the boot order (check the bottom of the initial screen when you power on for the keystroke to get into the BIOS) at boot time.

    Holding down the A button sounds like a Windows only thing, and probably did not have the effect you thought you needed.

    No key needs to be held down if you have the Live CD in your CD drive when you turn the power on. Try that to see if it works after resetting the boot order in your BIOS (if necessary).

    -- Tom
     
  6. Rshake20

    Rshake20 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    I'll try it when I get home.I'm at school right now.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/649128

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice