1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I don't understand

Discussion in 'Games' started by Seth13, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    I figured this would be the best area to post this considering its the games portion and I'm interested in 3D performance.

    Computer Specs:
    Pentium 4 3.2GHz
    X1900XT
    2GB DDR2 533
    Seagate(I think) 160GB 7200RPM


    When I run 3Dmark05 I'm getting a score around 7100, but when I look at revews on the X1900XT, they recieve scores around 9.8k. I don't understand what my problem is. I know my CPU isn't the fastest, but it should not bottleneck my GPU by 2000+ points... Could someone help me determine what the problem is?

    I have Catalyst 7.1 Drivers, DirectX9.0c.:(
     
  2. Crusnik

    Crusnik

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Only things off the top of my head...

    Is your RAM running in duel channel mode?

    And maybe those people are running 10,000 RPM hard drives instead of 7,200? I could see that possibly making a difference.
     
  3. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    How do I check if its running in Dual Channel mode? I'm using 4x512 BTW
     
  4. Crusnik

    Crusnik

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php) and check the memory tab.

    It should say duel or single channel. If it says single channel, check your BIO's settings on start up. In your RAM options, you should be able to switch it between single or duel channel... But that depends on the motherboard and RAM.

    Just something to check I suppose.
     
  5. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Its in dual channel.. :(
     
  6. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    What Catalyst drivers would you guys reccomend? I'm using 7.1 which are the newest, but i'm sure they aren't the fastest.
     
  7. Crusnik

    Crusnik

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Not sure =(....


    One more idea!

    In your Catalyst settings, is there an Over Drive option? I know some ATI cards have that as like a software over clocking feature.
     
  8. Seth13

    Seth13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Nope.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540548

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice