1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I.E. Page not opening

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sdtex, Dec 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    Hopefully this will be a simple solution.........but I can't figure it out!! Here's the complete story............I had a great idea to set up my "home network". I purchased an ethernet card for the computer that didn't have one and all the necessary equipment (C5 cables and hub). I installed the ethernet card, loaded the software and followed instructions for naming the computer and a "workplace". I then......and here's where my problem started, attempted to log onto the internet (dial-up connection). The modem started and I connected to my ISP, but I got the dreaded "Could Not Open....DNS Error" message and it said to check my settings. I checked every single option that I could think of, including all connection settings, TCP/IP settings, I "pinged" through DOS and it hit on all 4. I tried to set up a new connection and tried to connect through that, and got the same result. So.........my modem connects, the ISP loads the page, then it errors out. PLEASE help........now my wife isn't talking to me (bad thing??) and is threatening to buy another computer already and has told me to "keep my hands off it!!" Thanks to all..............
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,151
    Hiya

    Which version are you using? You could try a repair:

    Control panel | AddRemove. doubleclick Microsoft Internet Explorer. choose Repair, apply and restart.

    Also, ahve you emptied all your Rempory Internet Files:

    Tools | Internet Options. General tab. Under Delete Files, delete offline content.

    Also, if that fails, try this:

    Start | Find Files and type in Hosts. You're looking for a file called just Hosts with no file extension. You'll find a file called Hosts.sam but that's not the problem. If you do find a file called just Hosts, rename it Hosts.old and then try the pages. Be sure to close all instances of IE before you retry the pages

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    Many thanks for your help, Eddie!! BUT........still can't log on. I emptied the Temp files and cleared Cache. No change.

    I found the "Host" file, renamed it and tried to connect. Same error message. I connect to my ISP (Earthlink), but can't open the site. I also can't connect to Outlook Express. Says that POP3 server can't be found.

    I tried to Repair the IE, no change.

    Really frustrating!!!! Any other ideas????

    Thanks, again!!!!
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    check & see if you need to change the dialup adapter to "obtain ip address automatically".
     
  5. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    Tried that, too, Savvy. No good............But thanks for the try.
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    You're saying you can't dial in at all? Or only from the "newly" networked PC?

    My husband can't manage to make our dialup work from both either.

    But if it's NEITHER that work, I'll ask him when he gets home in a few hours.

    (Savvy--I really don't do networking. I mostly hang out in the Business Apps [Microsoft Office mostly] forum.)
     
  7. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    Right click on Network Neighborhood. Click on Properties. What is listed in the "installed components" box?
     
  8. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    Dreamboat's hubby wants to know:

    What version of Windows?
    What proxy software (if any)?
     
  9. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    First of all...........Thanks to everybody for their interest in helping. Before I go further, I just want to tell everyone to have a Safe and Happy New Year!!!!!!!


    Now............Dreamboat......I can dial in and log on to my ISP on both computers. I just can't open a website or my mail (OE5). I get a "Cannot find Server" message, but my modem DOES connect.

    Dreamboat's Hubby......I'm running WinME with no proxy software (as far as I know).


    Kilowatt.......I checked the installed components and currently what is there is: Dial-Up Adapter, TCP/IP and Microsoft Family Logon (MFL). I just included MFL, and couldn't open a site when that wasn't present. Please remember that I also HAD the other components installed when I had the ethernet card installed, but I've since removed the card and deleted files referring to the card. All I'm trying to do now is log back into the "Net" WITHOUT worrying about the netweorking aspect right now.

    So..........recapping..............I was able to log on, then tried to install an ethernet card and set up a "home network". After setting up and before I went any further, I tested to see if I could log on and that's where my problem started. I then removed the card and deleted all files I cvould find referring to the ethernet connection along with removing all components in Network file except for TCP/IP and dial up adapter. Nothing has allowed me to revert back top a position where I could open a web page or e-mail successfully. Hope that gives a cklear picture where I stand right now............................

    Thanks again!!!!
     
  10. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :D sdtex,

    I believe the problem is that earthlink requires that "client for microsoft networks" to be installed. I use Earthlink as my ISP and I seem to remember that they require this. I will log onto thier online help and double check though.
     
  11. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    Thanks, Kilowatt.................I'm off to try that right now. Keeping my fingers crossed and will post results!!
     
  12. Raphael

    Raphael

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    382
    How about deleting tcp/ip, and then reinstalling it?? That might just do the trick.
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  14. sdtex

    sdtex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    162
    Back after taking a day off for football and a few cold ones jsut to take my mind off this everlasting problem.

    Since last post, I installed Client for Microsoft Networks, uninstalled/reinstalled TCP/IP, checked for multiple "wsock" files............all with no luck. I called my ISP, Earthlink, and he checked all my settings with me and we spent approx. an hour on the phone. He, of course, said they couldn't support the ethernet card and couldn't help me, basically putting the blame on the software. Any other thoughts??

    See if this makes sense.........I'm thinking of downloading Netscape onto a disk from my "working" computer, and installing Netscape to see if there's a hidden conflict with IE. Worth a try you think?? I remain open to any and all suggestions..............
     
  15. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :D Hello sdtex,

    Try THIS thread and follow del's soloution. It seems like this is your best bet. Good luck. KW1
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63512

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice