I Explorer won't startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Burbinsky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
5
Having trouble starting up I Explorer. The only way I can get it to run (poorly) is to right click on the desktop icon and choose 'explore'. Then most screens will display very slowly and mostimes freezup. I have to use cntr,alt, del constantly. I did notice under system devices i have 2 direct memory access controllers with one of them yellowed. I removed it but doesn't help. Any ideas?
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi Burbinsky,and welcome to TSG.Lets try the repair option for IE.Go to start>settings>control panel>add and remove programs>highlight IE and internet tools>click remove.The dialog box will appear,put a tick in repair ie>click ok.Have you cleaned out your temp files.Control panel>click on internet options>delete the temp files.

Let us know if this helps
 

Burbinsky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
5
Thanks Beach, appreciate the response. Unfortunately I've tried both of those with no fix. I just noted that whenever i click on the ie icon, i get the hourglass for a few seconds, it disappears, but nothing starts. If i then do a cntrl>alt>del, there will be another iexplore added to the list. What next????
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi burbinsky,ok lets have a look at your startup programs.Go to Start>run>type in msinfo32 click ok.Click on the + sign next to software environment>click on startup programs>click on edit>select all,click edit,copy>then come back here and paste the page to your reply.


After you post the reply,go here for a free online virus scan,


http://www.housecall.antivirus.com
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi Burbinsky,when you do the ctrl>alt>delete,is the the other explorer showing EXPLORER EXE.If it is you have a trojan called Dlder exe.Am not sure if housecall antivirus will remove this for you but run the scan anyway,if it doesnt we have the removeal instructions for you.
 

Burbinsky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
5
Thanks, here is the startup paste you requested; also under the cntrl>alt>del it will show an extra iexplore but not what you mentioned (explore.exe)



Hermes Messenger Startup Group "C:\Program Files\DGDR Hermes\DGDR Hermes.exe"
MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
msbb Registry (Per-User Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EACCELERATION\MSBB.EXE
mdac_runonce Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\runonce.exe
TimeSink Ad Client Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\TimeSink\AdGateway\TSADBOT.EXE"
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
Eac_Download Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\EACCELERATION\DOWNLOAD.EXE -k
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
webHancer Agent Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\webHancer\Programs\whAgent.exe"
WinampAgent Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Ok,your have a few spyware componnets on your system.Go to Start>run>type in msconfig Click ok.Click on the startup tab and remove the check marks next to,

Msbb
Timesink
Webhancer

Remove one at a time,click apply then ok,reboot after each one.Once you do that go to the control panel>add and remove programs,let me know if any of them are in there.If you find them there also,remove them the same way one at a time and reboot,after each one.

Now go and download a free program called Ad-aware5.6.This program will scan your computer for other spyware componnets and remove them for you.Once you download this program also download the lastest signature file,and unpack it to the Ad-aware folder.Now run the scan,making sure all the boxs in the left pane are checked.


http://www.lavasoftusa.net
 

Burbinsky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Messages
5
Sorry, where do i unclick the check marks. There is no place like that under the microsoft system info screen. Or are you talking about the add/remove screen?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Just to verify, you are running msconfig to disable startup items, not msinfo32...

Also, once you are done removing the spyware (or even before), you should run regedit and navigate to

HKey_Local_Machine
Software
Microsoft
Windows
CurrentVersion

Look in both the RUN and RunOnce keys for:

mdac_runonce Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\runonce.exe

Right click on it in the right hand pane and delete. This is supposed to be in the RunOnce folder and disappear after execution. But in some cases it doesn't, usually because it gets misplaced in the RUN folder instead.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top