1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

i forgot my password

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by jaygor, Sep 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jaygor

jaygor Thread Starter

H iGuys

A complete linux novice here. I loaded Suse 8.0 on my pc which has win2000 sometime last year. Linux settled in just nicely. Everytime I boot Linux allows me 30 secs to choose win2000 otherwise SUSE Linux will load up.

I never really got around to playing with Linux but now I have forgotten the password. Is there a way of getting around this?

jaygor

2. tsunam

tsunam

yep when you go to boot you need to use the e key if you use grub and add single to the end of the kernel line. Thill will allow you to change all the passwords for the linux accounts.

3. dago

dago

Grub prompt, select linux option, press "e", then add "init=/bin/bash".
    That will give you root access without password.

Type "passwd" to change root's password and "passwd anyuser" to change the password of somebody else

4. joedokes

joedokes

I'm still lost with the answer to lost password (obviously I'm having the same sort of problem with SuSE). When I log onto Linux from grub, I get a dialogue box straight away that wants my user id and password. No pause, no nothing except a straight jump to the user ID/password. Where or when do I hit 'e'?, because there's no stop or anything when I do that. Then do I get a dialogue box or do I end up in some sort of command screen? And what will the prompt say asking me to type the init=/bin/bash command?
    As you see, your answer just leaves me completely at sea. this is what happens with newbies.

5. Whiteskin

Whiteskin

You get a grub box that says :Linux
    Windows