1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I have 200mbps internet, but wifi gets only half.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pyhton999, Oct 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. pyhton999

    pyhton999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,

    I upgraded my internet to 200mbps a week ago. The ISP’s router gives 200mbps speed ouput. I wasn’t interested to use ISP’s router directly. So i gave input to my netgear router, but, the wifi is giving only 92mbps even when i am next to it. I tried both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz, nothing works.

    Please help me.

    Regards,
    pyhton999
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,709
    What is the wireless adapter in use please
    It does not matter what the speed provided by the ISP is - or indeed the speed the modem router is capable of
    If the wireless adapter is not capable of that speed - you will only get the speed of the adapter

    https://www.lifewire.com/how-fast-is-a-wifi-network-816543
     
  3. pyhton999

    pyhton999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    My Router is NetGear AC 1200. The router is capable of 1200mbps and my ethernet is cat 7.
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,709
    Not the router or the Ethernet cat7
    the wireless adapter in the computer

    as per the link details - for example
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    If memory serves, the weakest link will determine the speed of the network (had a client who had the first xbox with the wifi network card add-on... it was a slow card and made every other wireless slow too.)

    so the question/s I have are:
    is the port on the modem to the router a 1000Mbps port?
    Is the modem a router too? if so, did you disable the wireless connection to prevent possible cross-contamination?

    However, i like the idea of your network card being a .n card, which will go up to 100Mbps (per that link), which makes sense.
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,709
    You are right as I have already posted on post 2
    with the link explaining it all
    and then quoted on post 4
    The problem if there is one is with the wireless connection

    That said I think a further response is looking unlikely
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    yeah... hopefully all other devices are .ac capable...
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,709
    Cheers
    Have I missed something I cannot see where pyhton999 has posted those details.
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,967
    First Name:
    James
    It was more of a heads up for the OP if they check before replying back. I like to give as much info if possible. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1234124

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice