1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved I have a question about overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by DreadStorm, Aug 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DreadStorm

    DreadStorm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Here's what I'm working on...
    1) Asus Z77-A Socket-1155 motherboard
    2) Intel i5-3570 (non-K) 3.4GHz Ivy Bridge - with Corsair H55 water cooler
    3) Corsair DDR3-1600 (CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9) - 4 sticks, 16GB total.
    4) Dell-brand GTX970 4GB.

    I had been trying to learn all I can about overclocking recently, because in all my years as a tech, I'd never messed with it. And now that I'm forced into retirement, I figured, what the hell? I'll learn about it. So I built this POS to fart around with, to see if I can get the hang of it.

    Fortunately, I managed to overclock the "in use" speed to almost 4.2GHz. Stable. But as we all know, when idle or under minimal load, a CPU will drop speed. In my case, down to 1.6GHz.

    My question is this: Is there a way I can lock the CPU to run at that almost-4.2GHz steady? ALL cores, I mean. No turbo, no drop, just solid, steady, constant 4.2? If I have to, I'll even lower that 4.2 down to 4.0 or 3.8 as long as I can accomplish this one little feat.

    Thanks in advance. I appreciate all the help you can give.
     
  2. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    I would have to look up your board but there are settings in the Bios that you can turn off to keep it from throttling back. "Speedstep"? I think is one. It throttles back when idle as an energy saver and other reasons.
     
  3. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
  4. DreadStorm

    DreadStorm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Typical male things, I guess. Why RTM? heh
    I bought it used, and just haven't got enough information out of the PDF. Or just didn't understand it.

    Anyway, I disabled SpeedStep, no change. Still drops to 1.6GHz. Couldn't find an XMP setting, but will look again in a few minutes.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 26, 2019
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,012
    DreadStorm,

    I edited your post for language. Even in the form of an acronym it's not acceptable. This is a family friendly site so please be more careful in the future.
     
  6. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    OK in your manual pages 2-20, 2-21 I think under CPU power management you have to disable CPU C1E also, leave Turbo mode enabled. CPU C1E:C1E is a power saving feature for the CPU, when your PC is idle it will drop the frequency and voltage, reducing power usage and heat. Looking for XMP now. Probably under the advanced mode screen.
     
  7. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,347
    From one web site "Enter the BIOS and navigate to the Ai Tweaker section (or press F7 for a shortcut). Under Ai Overclock Tuner, find the XMP option and choose a profile to enable. After confirming that these are the settings you want, press F7 to exit Ai Tweaker and F10 to save and restart your PC for XMP settings to take effect. Also https://rog.asus.com/articles/usa/asus-z77-motherboard-uefi-bios-tuning-guide/
     
  8. jagsthecat

    jagsthecat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Open up the power settings.
    Choose High performance
    Change Plan Settings
    Change Advanced Power Settings
    Expand Processor Power Management
    Change Minimum Processor State to 100%
    Apply

    I don't know why you'd want to run at 100% at all times. If you want to test the stability of your overclock then something like Prime95 would be better served.
     
  9. DreadStorm

    DreadStorm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I've heard some horror stories about Prime95 causing excessive damage to Ivy Bridge. Not sure how true it is, but I'm unwilling to take the chance. I have spares, but why waste?

    I'll give those a shot, and take some readings in the morning, and see how an overnight run goes.
     
  10. DreadStorm

    DreadStorm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Success, according to the Asus app. Max temp reached 62ÂșC under (what I consider) average/medium load. Starcraft 2 plays a bit smoother, for some reason. Probably the boost in RAM speed.

    I think that, with your help, folks, that we have a success for a n00b doing his first overclock.

    Thank you!
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,199
    Prime95 or other stress test is not going to damage anything as long as you monitor temps.
    How else are you going to test your overclock? No overclock is worth anything unless it is a stable overclock. In addition, running a stress test will test your cooling. If you really do not want to use prime95, either IBT [intel burn test] OCCT, or the intel extreme tuning utility will do the job. Note the intel extreme tuning usually will monitor temps while doing the stress test.
    BTW I used prime95 to test my overclocked 7600K [running at 4.5 gig] no problem at all.
     
  12. jagsthecat

    jagsthecat

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    I would also advise against overclocking a none-K processor, the likelihood of a fully stable OC using the methods employed are not worth the risks to the processor (even if you do have spares).
     
    SarahSims likes this.
  13. DreadStorm

    DreadStorm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Oh, definitely. It was only a test run, just to learn. It's not something I intend to keep constant.
    I have an older i5-760 that I WILL overclock and keep constant, though. heh
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232036

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice