1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I have Broadband Cable but It lags

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kiro, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    :eek: I had before DSL that download was 3 Megs and upload 384kbps and now I have cable 3 megs download,726kbps upload.It allways lags to play any game online and it takes time to surf through internet.I disable the antivirus and check for bugs.I check everything is clean so far.I have decent spec on my pc.I took my pc to my friends house that he have cable too and it lags like crazy and his pc too.I wish somebody give me a tip on this.:confused:
     
  2. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    what is the turnaround time when you ping the gameserver?
     
  3. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Ok jim18 tell me more about turnaround time when you ping the gameserver I'am a noob on this?:eek: (y)
     
  4. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Go to start/run

    Type in "cmd"

    A command line window will open.

    You need to know the IP address of the gameserver. You must have that info someplace, perhaps in a config file for the game.

    Type in this command:

    ping nameserver

    where "nameserver" is the IP address

    This will cause the system to send a packet to the gameserver, and ordinarily it will respond. The ping command will list the amount of time it took for the ping to get to the gameserver and back. This will give you an indication of whether the network is congested or slow between your machine and the gameserver.
     
  5. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Ok I will get the ip address from the game server that I play most the times and send you the results as soon as posible.
     
  6. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    ok here is a ping test from 500 servers that i took while i was playing halo.Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Wanda>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.fl.comcast.net.
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 66.177.45.134
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 66.177.45.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Wanda>ping 82.165.162.229

    Pinging 82.165.162.229 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 82.165.162.229: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=114
    Reply from 82.165.162.229: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=114
    Reply from 82.165.162.229: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=114
    Reply from 82.165.162.229: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=114

    Ping statistics for 82.165.162.229:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 56ms, Average = 45ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Wanda>
     
  7. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    [Here is one from yahoo] Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Wanda>ping www.yahoo.com

    Pinging www.yahoo.akadns.net [68.142.226.48] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.142.226.48: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.142.226.48: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.142.226.48: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.142.226.48: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 68.142.226.48:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 35ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 38ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Wanda>
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Visit www.dslreports.com, and signup for a free acount. Run their ping tests, which will give you a more accurate picture of exactly where any bottlenecks are.
     
  9. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Thanks JohnWill to give me that link.(y)
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    With Cable lag times can also be attributed to the number of people on your Cable node. If you have a crowded Node, your speed will be affected when more people are on line at the same time. It works different with DSL or Wirles Broadband.
     
  11. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    (y) Wow what are you saying is the bare true and DSL if you don't have the line clear it will lag too.(y) :eek:
     
  12. dobbelina

    dobbelina

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    739
    Perhaps a phone call to the provider is in place...
     
  13. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Phone call to the provider won't change anything.Because they came to my house can't do anything for me.I have 2 new pc and still lags like crazy and thats a big WOW.
     
  14. kiro

    kiro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Hi John Will I signup to Broadband reports.com on the date 24 Jan 2006.I post them for ip address test and so far no reply for until this date.What will I do next?
     
  15. tfosurf

    tfosurf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Hi
    I am no expert, but I had a similar problem and I went to www.broadband.com and pulled down the free tool bar and checked the tweek tester and got almost imidiate results just from a couple of quick adjustments. good luck
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/436741

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice