1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I just reformatted and I have no ethernet driver and no internet to get one? help me

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rockitlikenasa, Aug 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rockitlikenasa

rockitlikenasa Thread Starter

I just reformatted my computer and I was going to do my windows updates but my computer will not connect to the internet. I check under device manager to find that my ethernet controller has no driver. What should I do to get a new driver considering I cannot connect to the internet. I am new to reformatting and now I am stuck not knowing what to do. There are a few other things under my "other devices" in the device manager that do not have drivers as well, but I figure if the ethernet works i can get those from the internet. Please help me in solving this problem.

2. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge

Name brand of computer?

Model of computer?

Service Tag (if it's a Dell)?

3. markomus

markomus

You could download the driver on whatever computer you're using right now, burn it to a CD or DVD or save it to a flash drive and then upload it to your other computer.

4. jimbo5466

jimbo5466

try using the manifactures cds or with internet use the cds the isp provides

5. rockitlikenasa

rockitlikenasa Thread Starter

i have a dell xps400. i dont know where to get the service number? i used the windows cds from dell to reformat and they didnt install the driver and they werent found by the computer on the cds when i tried to load them from the cd.

6. brite750

brite750

well we could use some info, d/l this program
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/EVEREST_Free_Edition_d4181.html