1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I keep getting "sorry for the inconvenience" error message at start up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by brucegriffin, Oct 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brucegriffin

brucegriffin Thread Starter

Hi:
    Im new to Tech Support Guy and a technophobe. Thanx in advance for any help you can give me. Please be gentle!

My wife has a 5 year old Toshiba laptop with an XP OS. Over the years , she has updated and downloaded the various service packs from Microsoft. Last night , while watching You Tube, my daughter noticed an error message on the screen (she's 11 years old, and she can't remember exactly what the message said). She turned the computer off properly . Now, when I try to start the computer, it goes to the "sorry for any inconvenience" page.Whichever method I choose to boot- safe mode , networking etc- it goes to the Toshiba logo screen and then goes right back to the "sorry for any convenience screen".

I tried booting from the "Terca" start-up CD but was informed that if I did this I would lose all the files on the laptop's hard drive. Yikes!! I went to the Toshiba "help" website but found nomanswers to my problem.

Is there anything I can do to remedy this situation? Any help would be greatly appreciated.Thank you

sincerely Bruce in Dorset/UK

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Hi and welcome.

Are you able to boot to safe command prompt?

3. brucegriffin

brucegriffin Thread Starter

Hi:
    No..no matter what mode I try to use to boot, the Toshiba screen comes up and then. in dos-type script, I get the "Sorry for the Inconvenience" message.

thanx Bruce in Dorset

4. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator