1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I need a CPU torture test.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Skivvywaver, Jun 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    I need a freeware program that will torture the cpu so I can se how hot I'll be able to get it under full load for about 15 minutes which is more than this machine will ever get. I have one called cpu load but I had another one awhile back that really seemed to give her the treatment. Anybody know of any? I can't remember my name anymore, let alone a program. Thanks.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,563
  3. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Thats it. Thanks Triple6.
     
  4. 4steve44

    4steve44

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    I runn three apps. together to get my system to 100%. They are Seti@Home, Adaware and Spy-bot. :D
     
  5. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    :) Yeah I can dig that. What I am doing is testing a new heat sink I bought today. I went and bought a thermaltake volcano 11+ and didn't want to hear it sound like a 747 ready for take off so I put the probe under the CPU and set it up for auto.
    I can keep an athlon 2400+ at 33 C with it, but that is with the jumper on going full bore.
    She sits at idle at about 43 C and I haven't been able to get her above 50 C no matter what I have done. Thermaltakes idea of cooling and mine must be different because although the fan does kick up and keep it at 50 C or cooler, the fan never really picks up to even half speed. It is quiet this way. I'd really like to just plug it to the motherboard but the instructions say the fan uses 8.4 watts and not to do that. If I could do it I could control it with speedfan from the board.
    Oh well, I guess 43 idle and 50 pegged isn't too bad and after the grease has time to settle in I may get a little cooler. I can always hope.
     
  6. 4steve44

    4steve44

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    Yeh my prescotts a cooker. I have the Zalman listed below and AC5. Idle I'm @ 41c-42c but under load (100%) I run 53c-54c. I guess thats not to bad considering that Intels specs say Low 70's should be top temp. :eek:
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Yeah. This athlon is supposed to run at temps up to 85, but I really don't want to get anywhere near that. I'd get skeered. Right now I am down to 42 so I think the grease might be starting to take.
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,563
    My Barton 2500+ O/C to 2337Mhz runs at 44 degrees at moderate load with a motherbaord temp of 26 degrees with a Thermaltake Silent Boost Heatsink. My alarm is set to go at 50 degrees - and it hasn't yet but summers just starting.
     
  9. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    I am holding at 42 right now and I know the paste hasn't had time to cure. I am happy as a pig in slop. I used the probe because I just didn't want to be fooling with knobs or listening to the fan going full tilt. I can keep it cooler with the jumper on but man that is just too much noise. I had installed the probe just in case it ended up being too loud wide open. I am glad I did.
    I figure you used it also or you would be running cooler even though you are OC'd.
    I just couldn't take it in here with that fan at 4800 rpm. I can't get her above 50 no matter what, well I saw 51 once and the fan came up and dropped her back to 48. That was with prime95 and cpuload both giving her the business at the same time. I'll keep speedfan in startup for a few more days just to keep an eye on it, and then I'll just start it when I want to take a look. Man this is great, I have been fighting heat for quite awhile and step by step it has come down. This thing used to run at 65 centigrade, that is smoking.
     
  10. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Now I'll have to edit my profile.:(
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,563
    Yes, a fan at 4800RPM would indeed be loud. The fan I selected only runs at approximately 2500 RPM - its not a temperature controlled/variable speed but the result is that the computer is quiet; even with a total of 8 fans (4 Case, 1 CPU, 1 Video Card, 2 PowerSupply). I also only used the thermal compound that came with the heatsink, not anything fancier like Artic Silver.
     
  12. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,937
    Yeah, I used the white gook also.:)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/243797