1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I NEED A Dell Support EXPERT

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ktrexler, May 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ktrexler

    ktrexler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    Hi Y'all. I'm back with another family problem. My mom has a Dell computer and yesterday began getting the message Virtual Memory low. I visited her today to see if I could fix it....Discovered when she reboots the "wallpaper" comes up after the log on but not only is she getting the 'VM Low' message she is also getting:

    1. "A problem is preventing Windows from accurately checking license for this computer. Error Code 0x800705aa." And

    2. "User Init.exe - Application Error - The application failed to initilize properly. (0xc00012d). Check OK to terminate the application." And

    3. "Taskmgr.exe - Application error /same message as User Init.exe/".

    So I tried for two hours to get assistance at Dell and NEVER got to talk to a person. No icons appear on her desktop and there is no Start button. I F-8'd a bunch. I tried:

    1. Tried to take computer back to "last known good configuration"
    (no change happened)

    2. safe mode
    (same wall paper but no icons nor Start button)

    Does anyone have any suggestions. I couldn't get into Bio's......not that I'm an expert anyway but my XP hard drive crashed and I found this out by going into bio's.....maybe it's different on DELL!

    I think I'll have to just reload her OS. Tell me if this is the right way and if I'm leaving any steps out.

    1. Turn off the computer and when it starts to reboot, put in the CD.
    2. Hit any key when prompted
    3 Follow instructions

    BUT, IF I have to change something in bio's..........like to make the cd-rom drive the boot drive, how do I get to Bio's on DELL?

    Your help will be appreciated,
    Elaine
     
  2. Sid9678

    Sid9678

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    some pc's you can get into the BIOS by pressing Del or Esc or F1 or F2.
     
  3. colmaca

    colmaca

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,429
    i think to enter the bios might be F10
     
  4. ktrexler

    ktrexler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks colmaca......tried F10 yesterday and just got the log in screen. I will try to enter bio's per Sid9678's suggestion. Hopefully, when I stick in the recovery cd it will work without having to access bio's. I appreciate your feedback.

    Elaine

    If anyone else looks at this, could you give me a hint as to why my mom's pc started doing what it's doing. (The last thing she was doing was transferring photo's to burn on a cd.)
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    There is likely to be an error in the file allocation tables. Do a Scandisk or CHKDSK depending what version of windows is on there.
     
  6. ktrexler

    ktrexler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    Dave, thanks for the reply. However, how would I do a scan disk or CKDSK since I have no desktop (so to speak......see opening remarks). Can I do that by going into bio's? Don't mean to sound totally stupid but when it comes to the tech stuff, I am. The computer in question is WinXP - Dell (which may as well have no tech support cause after 2 hours yesterday, I still hadn't talked to a living soul.) Thanks, Elaine
     
  7. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    BIOS on a Dell is usually F2.
     
  8. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    If it is Fat32 based you can boot from a 98 install floppy and run scandisk. If it is NTFS you can boot from the install CD and do a repair from the console from where you can run CHKDSK.
     
  9. imwithstupid

    imwithstupid

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Go figure that a company whos slogan is "DUDE, your gettin a Dell" would have little or no support. Thats my kind of advertisement, made me want to run out and buy one...NOT!
     
  10. ktrexler

    ktrexler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    I'm with "imwithstupid" on "Go figure that a company whos slogan is "DUDE, your gettin a Dell" would have little or no support. Thats my kind of advertisement, made me want to run out and buy one...NOT!" I own a Compaq but my mom bought the Dell when that cute guy (that got fired for smoking weed) was promoting them. Now, he was cool! Thanks, Elaine
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - NEED Dell Support
  1. silver1976
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    386
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/228720

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice