1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I need help ASAP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by flyskimma, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    On monday I bought a s-joy adapter (to hook a playstation 2 controller up to a computer via usb). When I plugged it in, and put in the floppy disk to install the drivers...everything went to hell. I went to my computer - the floppy drive, then clicked the installation .exe and the computer froze. So I unplugged it then tried to turn it back on and it wouldn't boot all the way, would hang at the windows screen. Then finally I got it to boot in safe mode, but once it did it froze again. So I kept trying over and over. I got it to boot a couple times, but it would freeze after a few minutes. I did a system restore to see if that would fix anything, but it didn't. Then, I'd try booting it, then it would get to the windows screen, and my left monitor would turn off and my right one would say "no signal" or whatever it says.

    Soooo, I'm thinking its the video card/video card drivers. Is there a way to find out? When I get it to boot, and just leave it alone for a while, the screen will get all kinds of messed up, random shaky lines everywhere, even a huge collage of different colors and symbols (actually pretty awesome looking, haha)

    But yeah. There's the problem.... my classes are online this semester so I really need some help as soon as possible. Thanks guys.
     
  2. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
  3. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    reboot hit f8, safe mode, > right click my computer > manage > device (hardware) manager... you should be able to figure out things from there. There are also driver options as well under properties etc..

    or if your monitors still wont work.. hit F2 upon reboot. Select verbose mode if you can in setup... so as you POST you can see whats going on with your hardware.
     
  4. RootbeaR

    RootbeaR

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,469
  5. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    I've tried updating every driver possible. The computer turns on consistently now, but it runs for about 10 minutes then freezes.

    AHHH this is driving me insane! Any ideas?
     
  6. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    A common symptom for comuters locking up can be adware, viruses, the power supply can cause these issues too. "too little voltage etc", a bad cmos battery. I even had a hard drive with a bunch of bad sectors cause a similar type of problem (pc locking up after about 5 to 10 minutes). Your best best would be too take it to a notebook repair shop... that way they could at least identify the problem, with some software and or hardware related tools.

    There are obviously other issues that could cause this, but the ones i mentioned are usually the most common in my exp..
     
  7. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    I just changed the power supply, no change.

    Anything else I could try before taking it somewhere?
     
  8. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Back up your files (with that 10 minutes you have before crash) and re-install windows.
    If it doesnt work after that... You'll need a repair shop. Like i said you may need a new hard drive. Unfortunately there few other possibilities.

    I would attempt a reinstall for sure. (if it fails... its hardware related issue)
     
  9. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    I've never once backed up files. So how exactly does that work? I have a ton of huge programs that I use for work and would rather not have to sit and reinstall all of them if I don't have to =/
     
  10. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Try re-seating the Video Card and memory sticks and blowing out the slots.
     
  11. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    You said: "random shaky lines everywhere, even a huge collage of different colors and symbols (actually pretty awesome looking, haha)"


    Your computer had been hijacked by Alien forces from the planet Nepton, take a hammer and immediately smash it into a thousand pieces.
     
  12. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    backing up your files is easy... all you need to do is get a usb flash drive (id recomment at least 1 gig, theyre inexpensive now) all's you have to do is create a folder (drag n drop), or right click > copy/paste - into your new folder, any files you want to save, (music files, microsoft office docs, etc...) (make a handwritten list of your programs to reistall later)

    Then after youve got every file you want to save, right click the folder and send to your d: drive (cd/dvd burner (rw drive "same thing") and its all pretty straight forward after that. or you can send to any other drive like your flash drive (drive e) (every drive will have a letter assigned, but it depends on the order they were installed in the system)

    Yeah... like bonk said... try seating the video card again. If you dont have a video card that means you have an onboard video card built into the motherboard.

    BTW... what kind of computer do you have? notebook, desktop? make and model and what kind of gear etc?

    thanks
     
  13. flyskimma

    flyskimma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    hehe, i'd need 250 flash drives then! sooo much media, ugh.

    I'm not sure about exact model numbers off the top of my head, but it's something like this;

    (oh and its a desktop)
    Gigabyte mobo
    amd 3000+ @ 2.2ghz
    72gb raptor hdd
    250gb seagate hdd (i believe)
    2 gigs of ram, all patriot i think
    ati radeon 9800 pro
    powmax 400w psu

    I'll try taking out the ram/video card and putting them back in
     
  14. tjamnz

    tjamnz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    borrow an inexpensive crt and/or lcd monitor from a buddy if possible, and let me know if it works out. Ive seen a few brand new lcd monitors do some crazy stuff out of the box a few times at the last company i worked for, within a short time, screen freaking out etc...(had to be sent back, replaced)
     
  15. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    Have you run up to date virus and spyware scans?

    Spyware + Virus Tools
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - need help ASAP
  1. silver1976
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    425
  2. mag777
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    691
  3. aamberdawn35
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    296
  4. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    459
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538185

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice