1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I need help hooking up an old TV to PS2

Discussion in 'Games' started by hotskates, Dec 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    My old t.v. has a video in/audio in and is currently attached to cable t.v.through the cable plug ----Is there some kind of adapter to use since PS2 has 3 plugs that need to go into the t.v.?
    I want to keep cable plugged in as well as have the PS2 running through the in/out plugs. If there is some kind of adapter at radio shack that I should get, OR if PS2 sells adapters themselves, please let me know which one.
    THANKS:)
     
  2. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Is the PS2 sonnected to the TV through the coaxial cables, or with all 3 of the plugs? The normal connection is with the 3 plugs right to the TV. Otherwise, I guess you could get a coaxial splitter, connect both the cable and PS2 to it, and then put the single side into the TV.
     
  3. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    ps2 will be connected to either the antenna or the
    audio in/video/in slots. There is no slot for the yellow plug like on my new t.v., only 2 red/white.
     
  4. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    There's this and this one.

    The second one would be better, but I can't tell from the picture whether it uses coaxial (the kind of wire that your cable uses) or S-video (newer video, your old TV doesn't have it). I'm not sure if you can hook up your cable line into the first one, so that you could switch between cable and PS2 without unplugging anything....but if it doesn't, then you can just get a splitter, and hook the cable and one of the above products into it...I *think* that would work, but I really can't be sure....so I would ask someone at Radio Shack, they would probably know best.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    There is an adaptor where you can change the 3 colors to coaxial and you can also add the cable or antenna cord into the adaptor so that way you don't need to keep changing the cords around. SONY has there own, plus there is other 3rd party adaptors around $9.99. I know Electronics Boutique (also named GameStop or Babbages) has them since I had to purchase one myself.

    Word of warning: Your PS2 may not work properly. If the screen bounces then it means the TV is not fully compatible. It happened to me :( had to buy a new TV. I think it was the PS games that was bouncing, but the PS2 games was fine....
     
  6. Servant of Eru

    Servant of Eru

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,106
    Also if I remember correctly you don't always need all three of the plugs to play the game, but I'm not sure about that. :)
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Yellow is video and the red and white is audio for left and right. You will definatley need the yellow one! :)
     
  8. Servant of Eru

    Servant of Eru

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,106
    Nevermind. I know hardly anything about home theater equipment. I guess it showed. :D
     
  9. Servant of Eru

    Servant of Eru

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,106
    I think it was the white one I was thinking about anyway. ;)
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    you were right, just wrong color
     
  11. Deathdealer

    Deathdealer Guest

    plug video in white and sound in red (just one of them)
     
  12. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    so the yellow just hangs there and it will still work?
     
  13. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Well....it might work...you can fiddle around with it, and mess around with different colored plugs in different ports....nothing will really break, it will just show up all fuzzy on the screen if it's wrong.

    Optimally, you want all 3 connected, to get the best picture and audio quality, but some TV's have the ability to switch one of the audio ports (red and white) for a video (yellow). So just plug them in and see what happens.
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    hotskates, deathdealer is incorrect.

    Yellow is the video (picture) and needs to go to the Video In connection. Now the Audio - I find that the most sound is from the right side so you will need to use the red cable (but i just checked my TV and I believe the sound (mono at best) is the White cable. You might be able to connect it that way, but putting $10 for a converter would be a better option.
     
  15. hotskates

    hotskates Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    6,375
    Thanks everyone - I think I'll buy the converter that plugs right into the antenna. That would probably work best!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/183964