1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I need help solving this: Why do I often get a Red X where images go?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by freedomwatch, Apr 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. freedomwatch

    freedomwatch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Everyone!

    I've been browsing around and found this site to be an incredible resource! I haven't asked for help yet, but I think it's time!

    I have an affiliate site where I can place an image on the header along with my name (It's my PowerCogs site with Cognigen ... I guess I can say that)

    I placed the URL to numerous images that I have on-line through my account with Yahoo's File Manager. It's not an FTP, but you can store images. I then tried to see the results and keep seeing a red X. :mad: I finally used a Patriotic Ribbon that is offered free for using anywhere through my ISP, earthlink. However, I need to find a way to get the images I want on my affiliate site as soon as possible. Any ideas? As an example, below is one of the images I tried to add to my site's header (it meets the size criteria) see if anyone can find a problem with this link, or is it a configuration of my system? :rolleyes: If so, please tell me because those Red X's are a pain!
    Click Here to see the image... here is the same link in long form to see: http://www.geocities.com/freedomwatchdogs/freedomwatchdog.gif It appears like a good link huh?

    I appreciate any help I can get!

    Thanks to all of you and continued success!

    George - FreedomWatch!
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    I can't see JPG's or GIFS any more - red x - images missing - fuzzy images


    Fuzzy images - go to the following registry key:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main


    Right Click in the right pane and select New DWORD.

    Create the DWORD UseHR and set its data value to 1 (number one).

    (Taken from "Windows XP does not natively support High-DPI screens")
    http://support.microsoft.com?kbid=820286



    Can't see JPG's or GIF's - red x - images missing

    Go to IE tools/internet options/advanced/multimedia. Ensure the option to show animations is turned on.



    If you have just upgraded IE and you have Norton Internet Security installed reset your Personal Firewall Settings. If that doesn't work you will need to uninstall and reinstall NIS. AdSubtract also causes a problem.



    Make sure your cache is not overfull or corrupt. Create new IE data folders as per this link.



    It has recently been noted that if IE is set to 'auto-select' at view, encoding that some sites will not load graphics. Set your system to western european (windows) or western european (windows).



    There are regular reports where people are unable to get graphics back despite our best efforts. This may be related to a corruption in the registry. The following is taken from a relevant knowledge base article:

    http://support.microsoft.com?kbid=283807:



    "...If the problem [no graphics] is not resolved, a file or registry key required to display the Web page with the appropriate character set may be missing or damaged. To resolve this problem, restore Windows from a complete system backup or reinstall (or repair) Windows. If you are running Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition or Microsoft Windows XP, you may be able to resolve this issue without restoring or reinstalling Windows by using the System Restore utility to return your computer to a previous working state....



    Note that in some cases you may also be able to resolve this problem by manually editing the registry. For example, if the 28591 String value is missing from the following registry key, a Web page that is encoded for the Western European (ISO) code page might not display any images:


    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Nls\CodePage

    The value for this registry key should be set to the name of the appropriate code page file in your Windows\System or Windows\System32 folder. For the Western European (ISO) code page, this value should be either Cp_28591.nls (Windows 98, Windows Millennium Edition) or C_28591.NLS (Windows NT 4.0, Windows 2000, Windows XP). For additional information about the character sets that are supported by Internet Explorer, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/d...harset4.asp...."
     
  3. freedomwatch

    freedomwatch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Mobo

    I've had answers before, and I've had answers before, but this is above and beyond the call of duty! (y) (y)

    Mobo, I appreciate everything you indicated and I'm addressing each one of these solutions, item by item. I trust that one, or more, will work to fix the problem... I just hope it wasn't with the affiliate site and not me.

    I will also save and keep your Post's eMail notice on my desktop as a reminder to help the Children's Fund from time-to-time ;)

    Thanks again mobo!

    God Bless You!

    freedom watchdog!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/223872

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice