I want my 7.1 Media Player BACK

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

VeriChipped

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
147
Hi Guys
I just found about this website...Kewl.
I thought newer versions where better....not. Found that out when I downloaded media player 9 to replace existing 7.1.
I didn't like the way it accessed its features and it ruined the speed of the music when my existing music files where played back. It was played back faster. The old record players would label it the "PITCH".
So I decided to go back to media 7.1 player by removing 9.0 and guess what. After the download, media player 7 had no sound.
kept deleting the existing run program file for 7 and redownloading it but still no dice.
Went to microsoft support paid $35 just to find out 6 days later that they couldn't resolve my problem, something about warping existing components with beta. I tell you what it was, they labeled something wrong in there download media page that should have read for beta format. Needless to say they refunded the do re mi and keep it or lump it was the bottom line.
Finally my question .......how can I control the speed of the music being played back on my MEDIA 9 player? Just a little slower is all I ask?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Messages
562
flrman1, i'm curios as to how to display images like you just done. thanks in advance. Be nice to know
bob
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
Howdy stu37

You can use a screen capture program as flrman1 has done or just use the print screen key and the clipboard that windows provides...when you want to capture, for example, your desktop just press the print screen key then open MSPaint or any image editor and paste the capture as a new image...save it to your hard drive then post it here by using the browse feature in a new message or reply window. That uploads it as an attachment.... making it show requires editing your post and adding some code.
If you have a web site or personal space provided by your ISP you can upload it there and just link to it.

Have a look at the beginning of the image thread in Random

Everyone can display an image

buck
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
46,349
You can use print screen to capture the whole screen or alt + print scrn to capture active window only but I have found the Screenhunter that I use much simpler. For one thing you can choose what folder you want the image to go to. I have mine set to go to "my documents". You also can choose what format jpg gif etc.... also when I use the default windows print scrn function the image is too large to post here and in many other places and you have to resize it. With screenhunter it is 800x600 by default. click on the link below if you want to try it.


http://www.wisdom-soft.com/products/screenhunter_free.htm



BTW How did you do with the media player?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
46,349
Verichipped, where are you? How did it go with the Media Player? I wasn't paying attention and thought stu37 was you.


You are quite welcome stu37. It is always nice to help someone else rather than being the one asking for help.
 

VeriChipped

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
147
I just got a chance to read my email to see the response notification my thread.
I've seen that before FLirman but I always read in HELP as a video speed control never saw the word audio and for RECORDING speed. Never saw the word PLAYBACK speed control.
I'm going to try it right now bbl.
10:40 PM Central Time here.
 

VeriChipped

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
147
AHA!
My choices for Media 9 player Enhancement button shows only :
SHOW ENHANCEMENTS
GRAPHIC EQUALISER
MEDIA LINK FOR EMAIL
SRS WOW EFFECTS
VIDEO SETTINGS.
I've been cheated by not having:
COLOR CHOSER
CROSS FADING AND VOLUME LEVELING
PLAY SPEED SEETINGS :eek:
AND QUIET MODE.
What happened to my preceeding 4 choices they're not there.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
46,349
VeriChipped if you are not running XP you are not going to hve those features. I just fond it in the help section in Windows Media Player 9. Open the mwdia player and go to help click on help topics then click on special features and it lists there the special featuresthat are only available on XP Home or Pro. If you are not using XP I don't know what to tell you.
 

VeriChipped

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
147
What about upgrading DirectX to 8.0 or 8.1 or 9.0 versions,
will that add the missing features....or how about going back to 7.1 Media Player from my current9.0 Media player that Microsoft over the phone couldn't even solve.
They had me going to regedit and manually remove media player back and forth to make the sound play on 7.1 but no dice...had too keep 9.0 to have any kind of music.
Thanks
VeriChipped:rolleyes:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top