I want to delete my back up folder

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thejoint00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
I recently reset my laptop and created a back-up folder of all the files on my hard drive. I have moved some of the files out of the back up folder and into my current places, but I have some things that I am worried about wether or not I will be able to use if I just send the whole folder to the recycle bin (like codecs that I don't have the disks to re-install) The programs that I've moved from my back-up folder run fine now but will they continue to work if I delete the back-up folder? What will I have to do in order to use them after I delete the back-up folder? and Will deleteing the back-up folder cause any damage to new applications?
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
If they are just installation programs that you have moved
out of the folder,then they are self contained and will
work fine.
If you have actually ran the installation program and
installed to the backup folder(don't see why you would),
then they won't work.
 

thejoint00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
the applications were installed to the back-up drive when it was the main drive.now I want to extract them to use them in the new main drive.
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
Afraid they would have to be reinstalled to do that.
The installers put entries into the windows registry
that point to the locations of the files.
If you move or remove them,then windows won't
be able to find them.
If you did a recovery from a backup to the new drive
or cloned the old drive to the new one,then the programs that were
installed at the time of the backup,probably still are on the new drive.
Any programs from cloning a old drive to the new would still be
installed.
In these cases,the backup folder is not needed.
 

thejoint00

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
4
i bit the bullet and just deleted the back up folder. but some of the programs won't delete.-- specifically the windows folder and the users folder. should I add the folders to my main folder?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top