1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I want to upgrade my BIOs, how do I find out my version?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ChrisEllingt, Jan 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChrisEllingt

    ChrisEllingt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Unless you have a good reason for upgrading the BIOS, I suggest you leave it alone. Don't fix what isn't broken! :rolleyes:
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ditto.......don't break what isn't broken :p
     
  4. ChrisEllingt

    ChrisEllingt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    I hear ya, but eventually(within the next couple of weeks, I will be getting an AMD Athlon XP 1700 processor.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Is the BIOS upgrade required to support the new processor?
     
  6. Wogster

    Wogster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Don't do it !!!!! Unless you really have to. I have seen what it can happen if it's not done absoutely correct. You computer will die.

    There is a program you can use which will tell you all the info you require about your BIOS, everything else that's in your computer too... it's called Aida32, you can find it here:

    http://www.aida32.hu/aida32.php
     
  7. Wogster

    Wogster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    You will also require a dos boot disk to flash your BIOS, should you except this mission, you can find help for this at:

    http://bootdisk.com

    Good luck with your mission.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115254

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice