1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

i3 530 CPU temp from Bios is ~90 C!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Woffiedog_1, Jan 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Hello,

    My first computer build.
    Specs
    Antec 300 case
    Gigabyte GA p55A-UD3 MB
    Antec EA650 power supply
    HIS H467QR1GH Radeon HD 4670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 Video Card
    8 GB G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

    Put together and booted fine first time. Been installing drivers and other software but no real use yet. Had it on ~10 times for at least 1 hr. for one session over the past week.

    Just checked temp of cpu from Bios and it started at ~70C and went up to 90C as I was watching (idle)!!!. THe CPU fan is working according to the Bios

    I used the stock cooling fan and the stock thermal compound attached to Heat Sink. I just double checked heat sink and it was firm on the cpu- could not wiggle it. I used the 8 prong power line (EPS12V v2.91 according to Antec) to power the cpu on the mother board (label 12V 2 x 4 ATX according to Gigabyte).

    Should I have used the 4 prong 12V ATX connector. Could the BIOS CPU temp sensor be that off?

    Any other suggestions. Will I fry the cpu if I continue to use?

    Thanks for your help in advanced!

    Marc
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Might double check the themal compound on the heatsink.
    Some of those are covered with a thin piece of plastic to
    protect the thermal compound.
    You want to remove that as it will act as an insulator.
    Depending on how messed up the compound is,you probably
    want to clean the heatsink and processor and use some arctic silver
    thermal compound or similar.
    Clean them with a lint free cloth and isopropyl alchohol.
    If the motherboard is 8 pin,then you want that connector.
     
  3. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    thanks Leroys1000!

    I downloaded RealTemp and watched the temp go from ~50C idle to 90+ when I tried a prime95 test. I will try cleaning the heatsink and cpu then applying artic silver, try again.

    Cheers,
    Marc
     
  4. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Is 91% Isopropanol high enough concentration for cleaning off old thermal paste?

    Cheers,
    Marc
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Although I have used that without problems,it is a good idea
    to make sure the alchohol you are using isn't rubbing alchohol.
    Rubbing alchohol contains oils that you don't want.
     
  6. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    It is called Isopropyl rubbing alcohol but the only active ingredient is isopropanol and the only inactive ingredient is purified water. This was the hgihest concentration I could find in my town.
     
  7. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    There's a couple of questions you need to answer before your problem can be sorted out.

    #1-Is your motherboard Revision 1.0 or Revision 2.0?

    #2-What is the version of your BIOS?

    #3-Is the processor stepping C2 or K0?
     
  8. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Hi win2kpro!

    MB Revision 2.0
    Bios version is F11 (latest from website)
    Stepping? Don't know? How do I find this out?

    CPU is an intel i3 530 2.93 GHZ
     
  9. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Oh yeah, one more noobie question

    Do I need to remove the cpu from the mother board for cleaning off the old thermal paste or can I do it while is sits in the socket?
     
  10. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    You can do it in the socket.
    Just don't get thermal compound everywhere.
     
  11. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    If you have the box in which the processor was shipped look on the end of the box and you should see a decal with a 5 character S-spec number. Post the S-spec number.

    Do not remove the processor from the socket to clean the thermal compound.
     
  12. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks win2kpro-

    S-spec = SLBLR
     
  13. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    If you have the F11 BIOS we don't need the S-spec number to get the stepping. Both i3-530's were supported on the Revision 2.0 board with an F8 BIOS. You should however keep a record of the S-spec number so if you need information on your processor you can get the correct information for your stepping.
     
  14. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Just FYI the SLBLR processor is C2 stepping.
     
  15. Woffiedog_1

    Woffiedog_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks everyone for your help!

    I cleaned the heck out of the stock heatsink with Goof Off followed by 91% isopropyl

    The cpu cleaned up easily with the Goof off followed by 91% isopropyl (using coffee filters)

    Followed the Artic silver 5 instructions about tinting the heat sink. Added a thin stripe according to instructions for i3 cpus.

    When reattaching the heatsink I realized I had turned the plastic screws the first time I installed it instead of just pushing them down.

    Ran two stress tests using Real Temp and Prime 95.

    at 100% cpu highest temp was 57 C. Idle temp around 27 - 30 C.

    Problem solved!!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976347

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice