IBM Keyboard Rapid Access Buttons Disable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
Even though I have enabled my Rapid Access Buttons (IBM Keyboard), they are disabled every time I reboot. Could it have anything to do with Netscape 7, which I recently installed? My OS is Windows 98SE. Other than regular Windows shutdown problem (system reboots instead of shutting down), everything else seems to be working ok. Would appreciate any suggestions.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Hi rlm2

I'm not saying you have any major problems but it wouldn't hurt to do the following :-

Please do the following 3 things :-

Please go here and do an on-line scan for viruses :-

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
------------------------------------------------
Please Download and install SpyBot,

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybotsd11r3.exe

click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check All', and have SpyBot remove all it finds.
-----------------------------------------
Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

Please go here and download startuplist 1.4 :-

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

Download to any folder or your desktop
Unzip the zipfile
Double click the exe file
go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results here


steam
 

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
Thank you. I believe I've done all you suggested. Here are the results of lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

StartupList report, 12/14/2002, 3:19:48 PM
StartupList version: 1.40.1
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\NISSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\IAMAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON PERSONAL FIREWALL\NISUM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\CSAFE\AUTOCHK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATICWD32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\EVNTSVC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\CACHEMAN\CACHEMAN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\NETSCAPE 6\NETSCP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCANSOFT\PAPERPORT\POPUP\SMARTUI.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BRMFRSMG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCANSOFT\PAPERPORT\PPLINKS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
NIST Time.lnk = ?
Image & Restore.lnk = C:\aptdemo\iv4setup\SETUP.EXE
Brother SmartUI PopUp.lnk = C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\PopUp\SmartUI.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
EM_EXEC = C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
LoadQM = loadqm.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
ESSOLO = ESSOLO.EXE
ConfigSafe = C:\CSAFE\AUTOCHK.EXE
QD FastAndSafe = C:\Program Files\Norton CleanSweep\QDCSFS.exe /startup
NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
AtiCwd32 = Aticwd32.exe
SetDefPrt = C:\Program Files\Brother\BRMFLPRO\SetDefPrt.exe
CriticalUpdate = c:\windows\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

SymTray - Norton SystemWorks = c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
CSINJECT.EXE = C:\Program Files\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
NPROTECT = C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Cacheman = C:\Program Files\Cacheman\Cacheman.exe
Mozilla Quick Launch = "C:\PROGRA~1\NETSCAPE\NETSCA~1\NETSCP.EXE" -turbo

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = c:\windows\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

[>IEPerUser] *
StubPath = RUNDLL32.EXE IEDKCS32.DLL,BrandIE4 SIGNUP

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = c:\windows\msnmgsr1.exe

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 5/12/2002, 7:17:26)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET1192.TMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET1195.TMP
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET11A2.TMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

@if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat call C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat
@if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat del C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat
@PATH C:\PROGRA~1\WIN98RK;%PATH%
@if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat call C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat
@if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat del C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat
@C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVDX.EXE /Startup
Rem TShoot:
del C:\Windows\Temp\*.tmp > nul
@ECHO OFF
PATH C:\PROGRA~1\WIN98RK;c:\windows;c:\windows\COMMAND;c:\ibmtools;c:\
LH c:\windows\COMMAND\DOSKEY
C:\QUICKEN\BILLMIND C:\QUICKEN /p
C:\essolo.com

--------------------------------------------------

C:\CONFIG.SYS listing:

DEVICE=C:\essolo.sys
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE RAM
DOS=HIGH,UMB

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
rem notes:
rem dosstart.bat is run whenenver you choose "restart the computer
rem in ms-dos mode" from the shutdown menu in windows. it allows
rem you to load programs that you might not want loaded in windows,
rem (because they have functional equivalents) but that you do
rem want loaded under ms-dos. the two primary candidates for
rem this are mscdex and a real mode driver for the mouse you ship
rem with your system. commands that you want present in both windows
rem and ms-dos should be placed in the autoexec.bat in the
rem \image directory of your reference server. please note that for
rem mscdex you will need to load the corresponding real-mode cd
rem driver in config.sys. this driver won't be used by windows 98
rem but will be available prior to and after windows 98 exits.
rem
rem this file is also helpful if you want to f8 boot into ms-dos 7.0
rem before windows loads and access the cd-rom. all you have to do
rem is press f8 and then run dosstart to load mscdex and your real
rem mode mouse driver (no need to remember the command line parameters
rem for these two files.
rem
rem - you must explicitly specify the cd rom drive letter for mscdex.
rem - the string following the /d: statement must explicitly match
rem the string in config.sys following your cd-rom device driver.
rem mscdex.exe /d:ibmcd001 /l:g /m:8
echo type "exit" to return to windows
C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\MOUSE.EXE
C:\essolo.com

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\STARDO~1\BROWSE~1.DLL - {FFFFFEF0-5B30-21D4-945D-000000000000}
(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
(no name) - c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
Norton AntiVirus Weekly Scan.job
Run LiveUpdate (for Norton AntiVirus).job
Tune-up Application Start.job
Norton SystemWorks One Button Checkup.job
Windows Critical Update Notification.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1086/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

[oucv3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OUV3IS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/v3content/ouv3is.cab

[Register Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HWUTILS.DLL
CODEBASE = http://content.hiwirenetworks.net/inbrowser/cabfiles/2.5.14/NSPlayer.cab

[OPUCatalog Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OPUC.DLL
CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

[Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RUFSI.DLL
CODEBASE = http://security1.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37595.2601736111

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 10,963 bytes
Report generated in 1.232 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Did you do the virus scan ?

I don't like the look of this


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRA~1\STARDO~1\BROWSE~1.DLL - {FFFFFEF0-5B30-21D4-945D-000000000000}
--------------------------------
EDIT

don't worry about it - it's OK
 

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
Again, thank you for your time, interest and expertise. I use the Norton antivirus program - keep it enabled and update it weekly. I ran a complete scan this AM, and the program reported no viruses present. I used Norton System Works' One Button Checkup, and it reprted, and repaired, one registry error. The original problem continues: my Rapid Access Buttons revert to disabled status every time I reboot. Any further suggestions? Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Hi rlm2

go to start - run - type msconfig click ok, click "startup" tab and look for

c:\ibmtools\aptezbtn\aptezbp.exe

or something similar - make sure it is ticked then reboot you computer

let us know if this works

steam
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
153
1. What is your computer's model No. ?
2. Is your keyboard RAK 1 or 2 ?
3. Do you have the latest drivers installed ?
4. Have you tried to uninstall and then reinstall the drivers ?
 

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
ibmtools\aptezbtn\aptezbp.exe is not in my startup. I found a 394 kb application on my hard drive named Aptezbp, but when I double click it, nothing happens. Upon right clicking the file, I did a quick view which indicated the application is for Windows 95. I'm running 98 SE.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
even though it says 95 - it' colld be 98 compatable

Try.......Ctrl-Alt-Del and see if it looks as though it's running
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
If it's not running (and it should run automatically at startup) try reinstalling the software for the Rapid Access keyboard:
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2002
Messages
153

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
Yes, APTEZBP is running, according to "Cntrl-Alt-Delete." Under IBM Tools/APTEZBP there is a file(?) named AEZBCPL. Upon double clicking that file, the Rapid Access Keyboard preference window appears. There are two other files displayed on the Startup menu, AEZBcwxx and AEZBproc, both of which are unchecked. Neither of them are anywhere on my hard drive.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Have a good read through this page - there are more links on this page - see if you can find something that helps.

http://216.239.39.100/search?q=cach...Rapid+Access+Buttons"+disabled&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

also have a look at Mahmud603 links to an updated driver

Everything I can find points to it not being installed properly - the fact that it is not in msconfig, where it should be for it to load at startup

the fact that it is running under Ctrl-Alt-Del means you will have to uninstall it before reinstalling it

steam
 

rlm2

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
15
Thanks for all your help. Incidentally, I take it you live in the UK. While I was on active duty in the USAF, my family and I were stationed at RAF Woodbridge for three years during the 60's. Great assignment, great people, great memories. Happy Holidays.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top