IBM Laptop ?s

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Weezie12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
307
I bought an IBM Thinkpad 600 from e-bay. It is supposed to have a CD Rom and a floppy drive (internal). But I can't seem to locate the floppy drive. Probably a dumb ?, but can someone tell me where it is located? Also is there a place that I can get a manual for the laptop. Thanks. :confused:
 

Weezie12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
307
How can I find out if it is a 600E? Also what do I do when I start up the laptop, and I get a picture of a floppy disk with the floppy drive above it with arrows pointing from the disk to the drive?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2003
Messages
8,121
Regardless of which 600 series it is, there is only 1 internal bay that a Floppy can be inserted into... You have to swap out the CD/DVD rom inorder to install the floppy drive.

If a floppy drive did no come in the box I suggest you contact with the ebay seller ASAP.

BTW... I own a Thinkpad 600. Once of the best laptops ever made. Outdated now, but it will take a licking and keep on ticking better than any other laptop I have ever seen :)
 

Weezie12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
307
Thanks a lot. So there is nothing I can do to get around that picture of the floppy drive?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2003
Messages
8,121
Sounds to me like you either don't have a hard-drive installed, or there is no operating system installed. In both cases the Thinkpad defaults to asking you for a floppy disk (to start the installation process)

If it didn't come with an Operating System *Im assuming no if you purchased it on Ebay. Then stick your Operating System installation CD in the CD rom drive, and follow the prompts when you reboot the PC to install the OS.

BTW... Im putting my Thinkpad600 on Ebay tonight.... with WinXP and MSOfficeXP if you want to return this one, and buy a real one ;)
 
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
738
I always used my floppy externally with an adapter that plugs into the right side of the laptop. Didn't realize that the floppy drive can be removed from the adapter and inserted into the internal bay :rolleyes:

Anyway, gws226 is right. Sounds like no operating system.

Another thought. Go into the bios and change the boot sequence to hard drive first. That should tell you if you have an O/S.
 

Weezie12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
307
I put in the OS cd then hold down F1 and I get a little picture of a CD rom looks like/ When I press enter all I get is a couple of small Xs, and it doesn't go any farther. Can't get in bios or anything.
 

Weezie12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2003
Messages
307
Now I get a small picture of a lock thing. Is the system locked? What do I do now? Thanks.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top