1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IBM problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by buutanding, Dec 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. buutanding

    buutanding Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    i can't reformat my desktop pc my o.s wont start and my cd rom cant read any cd, i tried different player, but same thing, please help me:(
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,814
    First Name:
    Frank
    Do you have an actual XP CD and do you have the CDROM drive selected first in the boot order in the BIOS?

    You can't do a hard drive format and clean install of XP from within Windows. You have to boot from the XP CD.

    If the CDROM drive isn't working, it needs to be replaced.

    I'm guessing that's a pretty old computer.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. buutanding

    buutanding Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    yes it is a very old desktop pc, i already replaced my cdrom player and the hdd too, my cd is windows xp sp2 version 3, placed the cd and restart the pc, but it's not booting from the cdrom.:(
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,814
    First Name:
    Frank
    You need to go into the BIOS setup screen and make sure the optical drive is set first in the boot order.

    Once you do that, insert the XP CD and restart the computer.

    If all goes well, it'll boot from the XP CD and you'll see the Press any key to boot from CD command.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. buutanding

    buutanding Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    ok, i will go to the BIOS, and set the optical to boot first. i'll try it. tnx a lot:)
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,814
    First Name:
    Frank
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970326

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice