IBM Thinkpad 765D, yikes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
I know it's completely outdated, but :eek: I just "inherited" an IBM Thinkpad 765D and it "came" with a disconnected external disk drive. I've pushed every button and tried everything I can see but cannot figure out how to connect the blasted thing. I only want to use the Thinkpad for off-site word processing.
Please, can you help?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Is this external drive something that is in an enclosure and would connect to the laptop with a cable?
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
It's a black box labeled IBM and it has a cable with a wide mouth
"insertion grid plug" about 1" wide at the end (is this a male connection??) The plastic surround of the grid plug has two tabs to squeeze on either side which open and close small clips on either side... Sorry, I'm an idiot when it comes to some of this stuff. But there are no corresponding "plug in places" on the Thinkpad.
Thank you for your quick response.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy folks...

gusnvv...

Did you inherit a PCMCIA card as well?

Those Thinkpads came with a PCMCIA CD-ROM drive, the drive connected to the PCMCIA card, that you pluged into the PCMCIA slot...
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
No, Everything I have is as stated. I don't know what a PCMCIA CD-ROM drive is.
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
It's similar, but the plug-in is much smaller... only about an inch and 1/4 across...it has a bar code label across the back... 1mmkj039899 P/N 11j8145. Does that mean anything to you??
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
Actually, it looks a lot like this one I see on Ebay. Description

Up for auction we have a used IBM Laptop/Notebook Computer Floppy Drive Unit w/ Caddy. The drive is an IBM 1.44MB floppy drive, FRU P/N 05K8874, which can be used both internally and externally. The slimline case with connector cable allows for external use with protection of the drive.
For use with the IBM Thinkpad 600, 600E and 600X computers.

This drive was pulled from a working environment. Both the case and the connection cable are in good physical condition.

Guaranteed as described and against DOA.







Features

Low Buy It Now Price
Guaranteed




Important
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
So it looks like an external floppy. If you are looking at the laptop do you see a place to connect it on the left side of case near the front? I'm assuming that you actually need the drive for something?
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
No there's no connection port on the left... except for phone line and other "accessories" at the left rear. There is a flat panel at the front left, but I can't figure out if it opens or not--doesn't seem like it does... And, excuse my stupidity, but don't I need the drive to be able to protect/save my documents???
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I found a manual for a Thinkpad 770 and it showed the connector at the left front. Whether it had a cover I don't know. Of course a 765 may be different. If you mean by save/protect your documents backing them, then an external floppy would be a way to do it. Just curious what operating system is on the laptop?
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
Well, I think that it's Windows 95... but since I can't power it up until I get the AC adapter that I ordered [it was missing completely]...(hopefully it will come this week) I'm not positive. And yes, I want to be able to back-up/save my documents so I can transfer them to my desktop pc if necessary.
 

gusnvv

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
9
Thank you Norton 850!!! In scanning the Thinkpad info you guided me to, I found a diagram that prompted me to pull down an inconspicuous panel... (I didn't even know it was there.) and Voila!!! there's the connection! Thank you so very much. I would not have been persistent enough to find this on my own. Your feedback did the trick!!
Thanks again!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top