1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Icons corrupted/broken

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by mouse92, Oct 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mouse92

    mouse92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hi

    I am having difficulty trying to solve the problem where my desktop icons look corrupted or broken. can you please help me. I will upload a photo of what they look like.

    These are both word doc files.

    Thanks for your help
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    What happen if you use the F5 refresh key
     
  3. mouse92

    mouse92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Dave

    Thanks for replying.. I pressed F5 and the icons refreshed but the icons are still the same. any more ideas.

    Thanks
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    Have you tried adding another icon for those two?
    If they look OK, then all is well and you could delete the old ones.
    But if they are the same, then, see if you can fine the file that these icons are a member of and see if that they appear the same way, in that file.
     
  5. mouse92

    mouse92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hi

    I havent got copies of all the files it has affected but I was really just trying to learn why it happens and how to fix it without just replacing them. there are about a dozon or so like that on my desktop most of them are not important any more. I am starting out as a tech support person in my area but this problem has got me stumped and I just wanted to learn how to fix it for future reference. I have already done quite a bit of research on how to fix it but had no luck. If you had any idea how I can fix it or if it cant be fixed thats all good. I have a backup of the important files.
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    If the icon file(s) has been replaced by the one with the bad icon(s), then there is not much one can do except find a clean copy and replace the bad one with it.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1217344

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice