ICS IP assignment issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sirgrief

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
27
New clients on my network always try to assign themselves a new IP instead of using 192.168.0.1 as their internet gateway. There is one client that functions correctly on the network and DHCP is enabled on it. I've tried manually setting the other clients as well as using DHCP and no dice. My home network was find once upon a time and poof, just stopped working one day. Thanks in advance for any help provided.
 

sirgrief

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
27
its a netgear 8-port hub/switch.

i add the clients to the same workgroup: WORKGROUP
and file sharing works, printer sharing works, etc...
but no internet.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
If you'd describe your Internet service and ALL of the network equipment with make/model, we'd probably be better equipped to advise you. If you don't have an ISP that gives you multiple public IP addresses, you need a router in the mix somewhere, I don't see that mentioned.
 

sirgrief

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
27
cable internet.
cable modem -> server (2 NICs) -> hub/switch -> other clients

im interested in the router comment because i've never changed hardware and one day the other clients (all but one) ceased internet functions. but that one client still surfs the web fine along with the server as its gateway. thanks for the help so far everyone! :)

all computers running xp sp2 some have on-board NICs, some PCI NICs.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
521
Very likely your problem is XP service pack 2. The "one day" was the day it was installed on your machines. SP 2 installs a firewall and that firewall is turned on by default. Turn that off on the non-working clients, and that might fix it. It could be an issue on the server too, if the working client was actually on and working at the time the firewall was installed, it may have made an exception for that machine, where since the rest weren't on, no firewall rule was created. This is all speculation of course...

-Scott
 

sirgrief

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
27
the non-web-functional clients stopped working long before sp2 was even out. i installed sp2 thinking it might help them but no dice. ive tried every combination of firewall on/off on all machines...no dice. i also found today that the clients that have no web abilities cannot ping the server at 192.168.0.1 or by name (although when pinging by name it is identified by 192.168.0.1). its a code 65 failure. these clients can, however, view shared files and access some internet domains like google. i can even do a google search, i just cant leave google's domain after that.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
sirgrief said:
cable internet.
cable modem -> server (2 NICs) -> hub/switch -> other clients

im interested in the router comment because i've never changed hardware and one day the other clients (all but one) ceased internet functions. but that one client still surfs the web fine along with the server as its gateway. thanks for the help so far everyone! :)

all computers running xp sp2 some have on-board NICs, some PCI NICs.
I guess I still don't see where the make/model of networking equipment was answered... :rolleyes:
 

sirgrief

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
27
oops...my fault
hub/switch is netgear DS108

on-board NIC for server is Intel PRO/100 VE
PCI NIC for server is 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 (3C905C-TX)

NIC on client that works correctly is on-board Intel(R) 82559 Fast Ethernet LAN

NIC on client #1 is 3Com 3c905TX-based Ethernet Adapter (Generic) - desktop
NIC on client #2 is Realtek RTL 8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - laptop
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top