1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ICS + LAN/WLAN Router configuration

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TheJanus, Sep 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheJanus

TheJanus Thread Starter

I have a (hopefully rather basic) problem with the configuration of my new D-Link router DIR-657.

Now, what I had in mind was rather simple, but apparently I don't know the correct settings to
    achieve it... (A lack of knowlegde on my side, I guess. I have some experience setting up simple
    networks with a few windows computers and broadband modems, but the last time was some
    time ago and this one here seems to be a bit more complicated than I thought...)

I have one PC (Win7 Ultimate 64) with a 3G modem (via USB) and want to use this computer (PC1)
    and the 3G connection to act as the internet connection (using ICS) for my home network.
    This computer now connects to the new D-Link router (via LAN).
    I want to use this router to connect the other devices in this network (LAN/WLAN) with PC1 so they
    can also use this internet connection (via ICS) and also for the other basic network uses (file sharing,
    printing, ...).
    The setup of ICS was not a problem (I think) and the local network (LAN/WLAN) is working alright,
    but how do I have to configure the router so he "knows" that all internet traffic is going through the
    3G connection (ICS) at PC1 (LAN port) and not its WAN port (which is empty) while maintaining
    the functionality of the network (file sharing, printer,...) of course.

[FYI... I want to use PC1 (with 3G) for my internet connection because I want/need the VPN
    connection I have installed on this PC. While there are a few (WLAN-)router out there that can