1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ICS Problem On Peer to Peer Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by houndogs, Apr 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, Thank you in advance for viewing my question.

    I have a desktop pc connected to an ADSL modem. The desktop pc is connected to my laptop via a cat 5 cable. The computers have been networked for about 6 months and I having been sharing the Internet connection with no problems. I recently bought some wireless cards so that I could use the same setup but just without the wires. After I got the wireless cards installed and working I noticed that I couldn't access the Internet on my laptop even though I had turned the ICS on. After hours of messing around with it I finally decided to plug the network cable back in so that I could use the internet again on it, but even now when the network cable is plugged in ICS still doesn't seem to be working.

    I have run the network wizard severall times on each computer and also created a network boot disk and ran it on both computers but still it will not work.

    Windows firewall is turned off and I have now disabled the firewall part on Netlimiter.

    Below are the ipconfig results from each computer

    Please can someone give me some advice on this situation. Ideally I need a router which I plan on getting soon. It just annoys me to think that it was running perfectly before for so long and now suddenly it has stopped.

    Desktop IP Settings:

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DAVIDS-TOWER

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Networking Velocity Family Giga-bit Ethernet Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-8D-E5-A1-B3

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :



    PPP adapter Tesco broadband:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.27.31.205

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.27.31.205

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100

    194.168.8.100


    Laptop IP Settings:

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DAVIDS-LAPTOP

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter old connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-22-87-FF

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You don't have a default gateway on the laptop, which will prevent it from seeing the Internet. Why is DHCP disabled on the laptop, if you enable it, ICS will automatically assign the IP and DNS addresses.
     
  3. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hey John, thank-you for that. It worked for a while until my Desktop crashed and I had to reset it.

    It also worked on the wireless cards. Now the ICS has totally stopped working again. The settings are the same as previous except that now the gateway and DNS server on the laptop is set to 192.168.0.1.

    Have you anymore ideas what could be stopping it from working now. The firewalls are still disabled. The network is still ok to move files accross, it is only the ICS which doesn't work.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,106
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have a 3rd party firewall on the desktop that needs to be configured to allow internet access through that PC?
     
  5. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I do have a firewall. It is netlimiter, but I have disabled it and also closed it down. Windows firewall is also turned off.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, the default gateway and DNS are now correct, so something is amiss on the desktop machine I would guess. Since you can share files, maybe you should uninstall and re-install ICS.

    PErsonally, I'd still recommend a broadband router. ;)
     
  7. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Here are the ip config results now for the desktop, does this look right?

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DAVIDS-TOWER

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 8:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : (ZD1211B)IEEE 802.11 b+g USB Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-72-54-14-C6

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :



    PPP adapter Tesco broadband:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.27.30.0

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.27.30.0

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100

    194.168.8.100
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That looks like what ICS should have, DHCP disabled and the correct IP address. The PPP interface I assume is your DSL connection?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,106
    First Name:
    Terry
    If ICS is still not working, it's time to uninstall netlimiter. Or get that router. :)
     
  10. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Yes the PPP interface is for the ADSL connection. I will post all the settings from the laptop here tomorrow. I'm afraid we are working from two completely different time zones. I will sleep on the problem and hope for some inspiration from the sandman. Lol!
     
  11. houndogs

    houndogs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have now got the wireless networking working again with ICS. I don't know how long it will last though.

    For you guys who love your routers, I am ordering one soon! Lol!!

    Thanks very much guys for your help!! It's very much appreciated!!

    David
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The router is the clear way to do this task, ICS is a major pain in the butt! :D
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/565480

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice