icsmgr error!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
im running winME.

whenever i shut down my cpmputer, i get an error in "icsmgr." when i click close, the computer shuts down OK, but it's getting very annoying lately.

previously, someone suggested disbaling the start up for norton cleansweep, which worked for awhile, but now the error has returned. please help.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
But Icsmgr has to do with Internet Connection Sharing (ICS):

Icsmgr.exe: TSR monitoring for Directory Naming Service (DNS) and Dynamic Host Control Protocol (DHCP) requests. Controls the taskbar icon; disables ICS; contains automatic dialing code, logging features, and error messages.
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
i already said that i had cleansweep 2001, and that i disbaled it in msconfig. as for tony klein, your answer didn't help me at all.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Are you networking with other machines? If not, look in MSCONFIG for
icsmgr.exe Uncheck it. Reboot. Now shutdown again and see if it helps.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
If you're not using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing), go to Control Panel> Network and remove it.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2001
Messages
841
Hey everybody. Actually, if you're not using ICS just go to Start>Settings>Control Panel>Add\Remove>Windows Setup. Highlight "Communications", click on "Details", scroll down to "Internet Connection Sharing" and uncheck it, click on Ok and this will uninstall it. You should make sure that it is not checked in Start>Run>msconfig>Startup before uninstalling ICS.

Have a great weekend folks. :) sharon
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
OK, but it is the app that's causing your error, and not Clean Sweep, whether you may find that helpful or not...

Why not remove it like Mosaic1 proposed, and after that reinstall it again.

This will replace files that may be corrupted.

Good luck,
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2001
Messages
841
Sorry about that starwolf, you didn't mention whether you were using ICS or not... Do you think you could post the exact error message you're receiving at shutdown regarding ICS?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
In addition, please post how long this has been going on. Did it start after you installed or removed any particular program?

We can go through an item by item list of your startups and trim them to the bare bones to check for any other conflicts, too.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
starwolf- Sorry, missed the part about cleansweep and Tony was talking to me.

Tony- Cleansweep will also cause that error.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
BTW-In an effort to save face, the other are correct and it would have been my next reply. Simply re-install ICS through the add/remove applet in the Control Panel. Remove it, reboot...then reinstall it. Check your network settings and re-do them as needed as well.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top