1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

icsmgr error!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by starwolf39, Dec 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. starwolf39

    starwolf39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    im running winME.

    whenever i shut down my cpmputer, i get an error in "icsmgr." when i click close, the computer shuts down OK, but it's getting very annoying lately.

    previously, someone suggested disbaling the start up for norton cleansweep, which worked for awhile, but now the error has returned. please help.
     
  2. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Do you have Cleansweep 2001? If so, disable it from startup.
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    But Icsmgr has to do with Internet Connection Sharing (ICS):

    Icsmgr.exe: TSR monitoring for Directory Naming Service (DNS) and Dynamic Host Control Protocol (DHCP) requests. Controls the taskbar icon; disables ICS; contains automatic dialing code, logging features, and error messages.
     
  4. starwolf39

    starwolf39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    i already said that i had cleansweep 2001, and that i disbaled it in msconfig. as for tony klein, your answer didn't help me at all.
     
  5. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Are you networking with other machines? If not, look in MSCONFIG for
    icsmgr.exe Uncheck it. Reboot. Now shutdown again and see if it helps.
     
  6. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    If you're not using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing), go to Control Panel> Network and remove it.
     
  7. Sharon D

    Sharon D

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    841
    Hey everybody. Actually, if you're not using ICS just go to Start>Settings>Control Panel>Add\Remove>Windows Setup. Highlight "Communications", click on "Details", scroll down to "Internet Connection Sharing" and uncheck it, click on Ok and this will uninstall it. You should make sure that it is not checked in Start>Run>msconfig>Startup before uninstalling ICS.

    Have a great weekend folks. :) sharon
     
  8. starwolf39

    starwolf39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    276
    but i AM using ICS!!!!
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    OK, but it is the app that's causing your error, and not Clean Sweep, whether you may find that helpful or not...

    Why not remove it like Mosaic1 proposed, and after that reinstall it again.

    This will replace files that may be corrupted.

    Good luck,
     
  10. Sharon D

    Sharon D

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    841
    Sorry about that starwolf, you didn't mention whether you were using ICS or not... Do you think you could post the exact error message you're receiving at shutdown regarding ICS?
     
  11. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    In addition, please post how long this has been going on. Did it start after you installed or removed any particular program?

    We can go through an item by item list of your startups and trim them to the bare bones to check for any other conflicts, too.
     
  12. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    starwolf- Sorry, missed the part about cleansweep and Tony was talking to me.

    Tony- Cleansweep will also cause that error.
     
  13. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    BTW-In an effort to save face, the other are correct and it would have been my next reply. Simply re-install ICS through the add/remove applet in the Control Panel. Remove it, reboot...then reinstall it. Check your network settings and re-do them as needed as well.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61153

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice