1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IDE and Serial ATA problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Demensions01, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Demensions01

    Demensions01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    i recently put an extra HD in my PC thats a Serial ATA drive.
    i have SATA disabled in my Bios allowing the SATA drive to be seen
    as a third IDE . Ok heres the set up.
    Windows XP SP2.


    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.070227-2254)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
    System Model: System Product Name
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
    Memory: 2046MB RAM
    Page File: 335MB used, 5649MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

    now my problem is anytime i try to transfer anything to the SATA drive from either of the IDE's or Reverse the process XP locks up and i have to reset the PC. why is this doing this and what can i do to fix it ? this is my first time ever even seeing a SATA drive so im in the realm of the unknown as far as being exsperienced..
    my Email ADDy is [email protected] PLEASE HELP :)




    my IDEs are setup as

    Drive: C: = Master jumpered as Master on IDE channel Master
    Free Space: 90.4 GB
    Total Space: 114.5 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: WDC WD1200JB-00REA0

    Drive: D: SATA Drive non jumpered in SATA slot 1
    Free Space: 95.2 GB
    Total Space: 114.5 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: WDC WD1200JS-00SGB0

    Drive: F: Slave Jumpered as Slave on Master IDE channel
    Free Space: 77.2 GB
    Total Space: 114.5 GB
    File System: NTFS
    Model: WDC WD1200JB-00REA0

    Drive: K: Secondary IDE channel
    Model: LITE-ON DVDRW LH-20A1H
    Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/4/2004 08:00:00, 49536 bytes

    Drive: J: Secondary IDE Channel
    Model: LITE-ON CD-RW SOHR-5239V
    Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 5.01.2600.2180 (English), 8/4/2004 08:00:00, 49536 bytes
     
  2. Mosquito555

    Mosquito555

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,357
    Hi!
    First of all, why do you have SATA disabled on your BIOS? You mean there is an option that disables SATA or you speculate this because the drive is identified as IDE? Because that's normal in most cases.

    Your drive setup seems ok from what I see and what I know...It would be really helpfull to provide us with this info however:

    What is your motherboard (sorry if you added this info and I overlooked it)?
    The SATA channel you conected your SATA drive is colour coded differently than the other SATA slots?
    Do you know the specifications of your power supply unit? Like it's wattage?
     
  3. Demensions01

    Demensions01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    MB is an M2N4 - SLI power supply 500Watts
    in the bios Raid is disabled but the SATA port 1,2,3, and 4 are enabled as well as
    DMA transfers for each ports and so on.
    the Sata input is identical to the other three on my mother board.
    and i read on the net that with a single SATA drive u should disable Sata
    in bios and let it be read as an IDE through SATA connection. in my bios
    there is an option to disable Nvidia Raid controler as well as each SATA slot.
    Like i said in first post this is my first time messing with SATA so im not suprised that
    im running into lil things like this considering im only using a Single SATA drive.
    it was oreded wrong and was suppose to be an IDE replacement which wasnt
    identified within the alloted time to send it back for replacement.
     
  4. Demensions01

    Demensions01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    any help with my newly posted info would be greatly appreciated....
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/590811

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice