IDE / SATA problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

smackenzie

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2000
Messages
17
I'm attempting to install an old IDE drive as a slave on a fairly new PC (Fujitsu / Siemens, < 1 yr old) that has a SATA HDD as its primary (only) hard drive. As far as I can tell, I've set the jumper on the IDE drive correctly -but have tried all the possible settings.

In order to do this, I've bought an adapter card and cables (A11AZ SATA to IDE converter from Maplins UK, mfg by Oyatech in Taiwan); I've tested the IDE drive in another PC, and know it's functioning - but neither the BIOS nor Windows (XPSP2) sees it in the new PC. Obviously, the adapter card and/or cable could be faulty, though I have no reason to believe they are.

Any suggestions? Additional steps I need to take for BIOS to see the drive? I would imagine this to be a common problem, as people replace PC's but are reluctant to throw away old hard drives.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
xtreampb said:
i didn't think that you could put jumpers on a SATA HDD
Its not a sata drive, he is using a ide to sata adapter
BTW you can get jumpers on sata drives to change transfer rates from 150mbps to 300mbps.
Some mobo's don't support the faster speed
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Look at your Disk Management (Control Panel, Admin Tools) and see if it shows up in there. Strange that your BIOS doesn't see it, but just for kicks, take a look. You'll need to enable it and format it to NTFS if it isn't already formatted.
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
189
so does does fat-32 not support SATA HDD

ok so he is using an IDE HDD and trying to hook it up to an SATA controller
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2004
Messages
4,719
xtreampb said:
so does does fat-32 not support SATA HDD

ok so he is using an IDE HDD and trying to hook it up to an SATA controller
Fat 32 has nothing to do with the drive, you could run ME or Linux on it if you wanted to.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
268
try putting it back in the other box that can see it and use your xp disk to format then try it back in your box
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
Guys you are missing something here. The drive is connected to a controller card. It will NEVER show up in the system bios; only the card bios [if that is accessable]

First thing make sure your controller card is installed and shows up in device manager without any yellow marks. Once that is done, then you can connect your ide drive to the card [along with power] The jumper for the ide drive should be set to master.
 

smackenzie

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 1, 2000
Messages
17
Thanks for all replies so far. Elsewhere, I've been advised to remove the jumper from the IDE drive altogether (no master/slave concept in SATA?). As for the controller / adaptor debate, I think bigbear is right - it's an adapter, so I'm not expecting to see a controller card in device manager. (I will look however).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top