1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE 10 installed twicw and is nonresposive and shuts down

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Funkyecat, Feb 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Funkyecat

    Funkyecat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Installed IE10 to try out. After is sayys finished and restarted it comes up and is non responsive and shuts down.

    Performed twice with same results.

    Win7, 64 bit
     
  2. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    F :
    Please provide us with the information from this forum's system info utility.
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

    Your profile notes XP.

    When did you download it?
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/02/26/ie10_for_windows7_ships/

    From which site did you download it?
    edit
    Hopefully from here, & not a torrent site.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/internet-explorer/downloads/ie-10/worldwide-languages

    end edit


    Troubleshooting
    1. Try IE10 with no add ons

    2. Try IE 10 by booting your computer to safe mode with networking.
    NOTE: some wireless connections will not function in safe mode. Be prepared for the possibility of needing an ethernet connection.

    edit
    IE 10 Troubleshooting
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj851191.aspx

    end edit


    Keep us posted.

    RF123
     
  3. Funkyecat

    Funkyecat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    I had downloaded it from the site. I redownloaded/installed it again with the same results: It seems to begin to start up and then goes away/crashes.
    I removed it and rechecked the existing IE9 which starts up. There are no extras added as I did not use it (Chrome and Firefox used.
     
  4. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Do you refer to the Microsoft site that I provided?

    Additional troubleshooting steps are provided here.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj851191.aspx

    Also
    Boot to safe mode with networking; try IE10 with add ons & with no add ons.

    RF123
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  6. Funkyecat

    Funkyecat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    I had to totally do a reinstall.

    I have Win 7 and I have to update my profile when I find it.

    I will try ie 10 in a week after I reset everytning and back up it all.
     
  7. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Of IE10 or W7 or other?

    Before or after the onset of this problem?

    RF123
     
  8. Funkyecat

    Funkyecat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    I am in the process of completely reinstalling an HP version of Win7 (with crapware).
     
  9. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Thanks for the update.

    Too bad that one can not pull the W7 install files from an OEM's recovery program.

    Which W7? You forum profile continues to display XP.
    :)

    Keep us posted.

    RF123
     
  10. Funkyecat

    Funkyecat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    I haven't updated my profile yet. I don't have a win 7 oem. It is a recovery partition on my computer. What is worse is that I had to add all the updates including SP1. It took longer for SP1 to install then Win 7 itself. This show that Microsquash issues unready programs. The only good thing about Win 8 is that it has a recovery that will not reformat the partition or disk only restore MS original files.
     
  11. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    For purposes of clarification:

    I wrote:
    I did not refer to an OEM disk.

    OEMs save money by not providing an install disk or set of disks.

    Some OEMs offer a method for creating a set of recovery disks. Some OEMs do not offer such features.

    Keep us posted.

    RF123
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091089

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice