Ie 5.5 ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Hey everyone.

Does anyone out there know where I can download a copy of Internet Explorer 5.5. I really like this version because it works really well for me (it has in the past) but the one I have now can't be repaired and I'm getting a bunch of script errors for some reason. I've unchecked the box for this but I still get them.

Thanks and may God bless!
Peter
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Messages
860
there are two boxes:


Check "disable script bugging" and uncheck "display a notification about every script error".




Hope that helps.
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
That did the trick!
I didn't realize there were two boxes.

Thanks Monted. I appreciate your help!

Peter
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Hey buf, thanks but that site you posted in for the service pack for IE 5.5 NOT for the browser download itself. Unless I'm missing something.

Hey Monted, I take that back. I'm still getting script errors. I think it's because somehow I'm missing the scrrun.dll file. Does anyone know where to get the version for IE 5.5?

Peter
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Sorry buf, that WAS the site where to download IE 5.5. I goofed.

Thanks Buck52 for the .dll file and the IE 5.5 site.

Thanks to all who helped out here. Your help is VERY much appreciated!! I'll post back and let y'all know how things worked out.

Thanks and God bless,
Peter
 

buf

Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
alamal:
It's okay cause it doesn't hurt to have two opinions. However, I thought I remembered using that site when I downloaded and saved IE5.5SP2 for my backup file some time ago.
Glad you got it sorted out.:D
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Unfortunately, I'm still getting script errors. I thought I got things ironed out but apparently not.

Why is this and what can I do to get rid of them?

Peter
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
Howdy

When you said "but the one I have now can't be repaired "... have you tried the repair feature or...
did you download a new copy and save it to a CD then uninstall the copy you have from add/remove programs then install fresh from the CD

buck
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
I've upgraded to IE 6.0 in hope of getting rid of the script errors. I did uncheck "display a notification about every script error" and checked "disable script debugging" after the upgrade and I still get the errors.

When I was running IE 5.5 I couldn't repair because there was a scrrun.dll file missing but the upgrade took care of that.

I CAN run repair on IE 6 but it still give script errors. They also seem to becoming more numerous.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Peter
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Would you do this, please?

Go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads.php#det , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please show us its contents.
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
Howdy

Don't know much about it but what are you doing that causes the script errors...

Did you burn a copy of either 5.5 or 6 to a CD and try a remove then reinstall

buck
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
OK, here's what I've done now. I've uninstalled IE 6 and reinstalled it and so far I haven't seen any script errors but I've only visited Spywareinfo and downloaded what Tony suggested, this site and Weather Underground and Yahoo. So far nothing. This is weird. Why not now. What's different.


Here are the results from Hijack...
Logfile of HijackThis v1.91.2
Scan saved at 7:15:39 AM, on 2/9/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page=https://login.yahoo.com/config/login?.src=my&.v=0&.u=d920rrgv4cju4&.last=&promo=&.intl=us&.bypass=&.partner=&.done=http%3a//my.yahoo.com/bookmarks/1.html
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\PROGRAM FILES\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - D:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPSCANMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpsjvxd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsjbmgr] D:\PrecisionScanLT\hpsjbmgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ccEvtMgr] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - D:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_link.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - D:\PROGRAM FILES\FLASHGET\jc_all.htm
O9 - Extra button: FlashGet (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O11 - Options group: [Multimedia] Multimedia
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://free.aol.com
O16 - DPF: {0C568603-D79D-11D2-87A7-00C04FF158BB} (BrowseFolderPopup Class) - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/Shared/MGBrwFld.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (sys Class) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: Dialpad Java Applet (sys Class) - http://dialpad.com/applet/src/vscp.cab
O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab
O16 - DPF: Dialpad US Java Applet (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://www.dialpad.com/applet/src/vscp.cab
O16 - DPF: {90C9629E-CD32-11D3-BBFB-00105A1F0D68} (InstallShield Setup Player) - http://ftp.hp.com/pub/automatic/player/isetup.cab
O16 - DPF: {F554B9AB-E6C9-4FA6-BFE7-B3CB24AD5027} (MSN Money Charting) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/investor/v10/investor.cab
O16 - DPF: {72C23FEC-3AF9-48FC-9597-241A8EBDFE0A} (InstallShield International Setup Player) - http://ftp.hp.com/pub/automatic/player/isetupML.cab
O16 - DPF: {99B42120-6EC7-11CF-A6C7-00AA00A47DD2} (Label Object) - http://activex.microsoft.com/controls/iexplorer/x86/ielabel.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/20011223/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} (RdxIE Class) - http://207.188.7.150/198e8782664554825e16/netzip/RdxIE6.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37596.5852314815
O16 - DPF: {8AD9C840-044E-11D1-B3E9-00805F499D93} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.0_01) -
O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0000-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.0_01) -
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = execpc.com

However, after the reinstall, things seems to be ok. Hopefully it sticks.

Thanks Tony and Buck.
Peter
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top