1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE 6 freezes on start up?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by babba46, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    I have an ongoing problem with IE 6 not starting completely. When I start IE it freezes when the text and buttons should be displaying. So it's basically a gray and white screen with horizontal lines. The odd thing is after about 2-3 minutes the rest of the screen completes loading (text and buttons) and ready for use. I have found that during this time it's frozen the task manager says it's not responding. If I end the task then try to launch IE again it will work correctly. I can then open and close IE with no problems except when I turn the dial up connection off and on again then the problem reappears.

    I've tried to use the repair function in add/remove programs with no change. Is there a way I can completely reinstall IE without reloading Windows?

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    First question is what operating system are you using here.
     
  3. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    Windows 98SE.
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Try removing Internet explorer 6 all together then reboot and reinstall it..
     
  5. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    I tried to uninstall what I could meaning the only options I have is to remove SP1 and updates. I then installed IE5.5 from a modem driver CD. It still does the same thing. Once I start IE, the screen is grey and white background with the fields. No text or buttons. Again, if I end the task and start IE again, it works fine until I close the connection or restart Windows. Weird huh?
     
  6. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    I have since downloaded all the critical updates to bring IE current (IE6).

    About the same time (not sure?) I started having this problem, I had uninstalled 3 or 4 programs. Could the uninstaller programs also removed some of IE? DLL's etc.? I don't remember all the software I uninstalled but I do know one of them was Opera so I could get the newer version.
     
  7. deh

    deh

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,809
    Hmmm
    Note this is just a What if? but I've seen stranger.

    Before you bring up IE what is listed as running in task manager. How about in task manager after IE is listed as Not responding? Is there anything else listed as not responding? Make a note of the programs running in task manager, After you "End task", bring task manager back up. Is there anything else that used to be listed now gone?

    Not saying this is the case but perhaps something initially running in the background is piggybacking IE and this errant program starts each time Windows is booted. When you end task it also ends mystery program thus allowing you to successfully start IE. But as said when you reboot the program either starts up again.

    Have you tried a spyware remover, scanned with latest antivirus update? Only reason I am saying that is because some programs won't list themselves as running in task manager.

    Just a thought....
     
  8. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    Great thought! However, there were no "tag-alongs" with IE. The same programs were running before and after I started IE, ended the tast and started IE again.

    There is one other thing. When I start IE and it gives me the blank screen, The Hour glass is on. If I wait several minutes the screen finishes loading and IE works fine?
     
  9. babba46

    babba46 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    252
    Sorry, I forgot to mention that I use Spybot and Adaware religiously!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220746

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice