1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE 6 stops loading pages

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by JimmyP, Feb 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JimmyP

    JimmyP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I am running IE6 on Win98. After I browse a few pages, it quits loading pages. Links stop working, and I only get the "done" indicator in the status bar. Have to hit Refresh a couple times, then wait sometimes a couple mins. Tried deleting temp internet files, all offline content, ran the Repair IE function in control panel, and Norton System Works doesn't find anything. Driving me nuts.

    Hints(?)- problem may have started after I did my taxes on TurboTax for the Web, also, my (this is weird) browser freezes any time I go to the microsoft web site.

    Help?

    JimmyP
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    This happens to me as well - I bet you're on a slow dial-up connection - because that's what I put it down to

    I clean out everything regularly and it makes no dirrerence - I'm afraid you just have to live with it or get broadband - unfortunately for me that option is not available.

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here

    steam
     
  3. JimmyP

    JimmyP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    By the way, your statement about a slow connect speed may be it. Tonight, for the first time in a while, I am connected fairly fast and it's better. I have a crummy dialup service, you get what you pay for.

    Anyway, Here it is.

    StartupList report, 2/19/03, 10:25:34 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP2\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ENCOMPASS\ENCMONTR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INETSRV\INETINFO.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINJECT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGLOOP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSG32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDTCW.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USBMMKBD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER\DPPS2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\QUICKENW\QWDLLS.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\NETROPA\ONSCRE~1\OSD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON CLEANSWEEP\CSINSM32.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\Monwow.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP2\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE
    Quicken Startup.lnk = C:\Quickenw\QWDLLS.EXE
    Billminder.lnk = C:\Quickenw\BILLMIND.EXE
    PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    CleanSweep Smart Sweep-Internet Sweep.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\csinsm32.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor = c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    AtiCwd32 = Aticwd32.exe
    AtiKey = Atitask.exe
    USBMMKBD = usbmmkbd.exe
    HPScanPatch = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPScanFix.exe
    hpsysdrv = c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    Keyboard Manager = C:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    Adaptec DirectCD = C:\Program Files\DirectCD\directcd.exe
    TimeSink Ad Client = "C:\Program Files\TimeSink\AdGateway\TSADBOT.EXE"
    StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    internat.exe = internat.exe
    AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    NPROTECT = c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
    QD FastAndSafe =
    Pop-Up Stopper = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANICWARE\POP-UP STOPPER\DPPS2.EXE"
    Nv4ColorInit = RUNDLL32.EXE NV4QTWK.DLL,NvColorInit

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Hidserv = Hidserv.exe run
    Encompass_ENCMONTR = C:\Program Files\Encompass\ENCMONTR.EXE
    MSDTC = msdtcw -start
    inetinfo.exe = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe -e w3svc
    Avgserv9.exe = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    CSINJECT.EXE = c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton CleanSweep\CSINJECT.EXE
    NPROTECT = c:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
    SymTray - Norton SystemWorks = c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Taskbar Display Controls = RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 4/2/2003, 19:12:24)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\$AVGUPD$.BKP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\bootup.exe
    path C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6
    SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H7 P330 T6
    SET SBPCI=C:\SBPCI
    SET PATH=%PATH%;"C:\PROGRAM;FILES\MTS";C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANTEC\PCANYW~1
    SET CLASSPATH=C:\PROGRA~1\PHOTOD~1.1\ADOBEC~1

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.68-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Norton SystemWorks One Button Checkup.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\OUTC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://dgl.microsoft.com/downloads/outc.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Microsoft ProgressBar Control, version 5.0 (SP2)]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\COMCTL32.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/Shared/ComCtl32/6,0,80,22/ComCtl32.cab

    [BrowseFolderPopup Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\SHARED\MGBRWFLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/Shared/MGBrwFld.cab

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1108/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37646.4402430556

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    Protocol #1: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #2: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #3: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #4: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #5: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #6: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #7: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #8: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #9: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)
    Protocol #15: freeisys.dll (file MISSING)

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 7,771 bytes
    Report generated in 0.463 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  4. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi JimmyP

    I see no problems in your startup - but you do have far too many programs running at startup - this is bound to put a strain on your system resources

    If it doesn't need to load at startup - stop it

    http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_pages/startup_full.htm
    http://www.subdimension.com/userpages/scitech/sbccsi/startups.htm
    http://www.answersthatwork.com/Tasklist_pages/tasklist_o.htm

    Use the links above to help you decide what you can untick at startup

    Now go to start click "run" and type in msconfig click startup tab - and start unticking

    reboot when finished and these programs will no longer run at startup - you can still start them manualy - or go back and retick them if you decide you want them back on

    steam
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You do have some spyware:

    TimeSink Ad Client = "C:\Program Files\TimeSink\AdGateway\TSADBOT.EXE"

    After disabling everything unneccessary in Msconfig (including this one, of course) do this:

    Download Spybot - Search & Destroy

    After installing, press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

    Next, go to Settings > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds.
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    JimmyP

    oops missed that one - sorry - we are lucky to have Tony to keep an eye on us :D (I mean that most sincerley) thanks Tony

    steam
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    No prob! :)

    As you know I can smell Startuplist logs being posted at a distance of over a mile... LOL
     
  8. JimmyP

    JimmyP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks loads for your help! I sure cleaned up a lot of unnecessary business. I also believe my crummy dial-up service is to blame too. You folks sure know your stuff.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119627

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice