1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE 7 to IE 6

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by kaligt55, Jan 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kaligt55

    kaligt55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Hi
    Someone recently downloaded the update from ie 6 to ie 7. i do not like it and would like to return to ie6. Is this possible. I read that i coud but am not convinced with certainty. I do have the cd for ie 4.0 if something were to go wrong but if i remembre correctly there was a problem installing that a couple years ago. Anywho can this be done and how?
    thanks bunches
    kali
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    Welcome to the IE7 haters crowd

    Go to Add/Remove .. click on show updates (at the top)
    Find and remove the IE 7 update .. and reboot.
    This'll roll you back to IE 6.
    Now ... you may want to take a look at Firefox.
     
  3. emoxley

    emoxley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    712
    I second going to Firefox.
    It's better than ANY version of IE! :)
     
  4. kaligt55

    kaligt55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    140
    Thank you so much. i do have foxfire and i use both. i guess it depends on how the weather is lol
    thanks again
    kali
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    Right now it's 6 degrees F outside .. Some threat of snow .. And I'll still use FireFox as my main browser. :)

    Only jump to IE6 when I absolutely have to :mad:

    You're welcome .. stop by anytime.
    Jay
     
  6. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,889
    Is there any risk of IE7 being installed again unless Automatic Updates are disabled? I don't have XP so I wouldn't know, but it might be rekevant to others

    My preferred browser is Opera and I have Firefox as a standby, I don't need IE at all.
     
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,886
    First Name:
    Jay
    YES ... Good point ...
    I do all my updates manually ... about the middle of the month...
    and choose what I want to take a chance with.
     
  8. emoxley

    emoxley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    712
    There are a few sites that only work with IE, or I wouldn't even have it on my computer (if it can even be deleted).
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539723

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice