IE 8 32 bit not loading.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
I was refer to here form a malware forum.

http://forums.techguy.org/malware-r...connecting-homepage-hijack-5.html#post7327404

I have problem with loading any pages from IE 8 32 bit from windows 7 64 bit new laptop 2-3 weeks ago.

When open IE 8 32 bit. The page will be blank with the tab showing connecting.
But nothing would load. Homepage will not open even if I manually type in a web address. Weird thing is that when go to tools/internet options , it won't open it.
Many of the options are gray out ex. Help/About IE Help/Internet Explorer help
Here is the picture attachment I upload earlier.

http://attachments.techguy.org/attac...ie-regular.jpg

If I run it as Admin, then I can actually open internet option under tools. but the page is still blank.
Because IE8 32 bit is the default for live messenger, so when clicking url hyperlink from messenger. Not even an IE window pop up.

Firefox and IE 64 bit is loading everything fine.
I tried remove IE 8 and reinstall it again, reset IE settings, reset my router, remove symantec with removal tools, running MSRT from microsoft, virus scan, running script according to this site.
Nothing works so far.

http://social.answers.microsoft.com.../thread/e312e580-1cbc-496b-8c6b-b69b8535a7bb/

Any input would be helpful. Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
697
Does ie run properly in safe mode?

* Go to Start > Accessories > Run
* Type iexplore -extoff
* Press Enter
 

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
Same thing in safe mode.
try iexplore -extoff and still not loading anything.

I even try to create different user and that didn't work too
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
697
Have you tried running system file checker?

* Go to Start > Accessories > Command Prompt (right click and Run as Administrator)
* Type sfc /scannow
* Press Enter

Open Notepad

* Go to Start > Accessories > Notepad(right click and Run as Administrator)
* File > Open > %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log
* Press Enter

search and post any lines containing these strings:

Cannot repair member file file details
Repaired file
Repairing corrupted file
 

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
After scan it says Windows resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.

Searched for those 3 strings and cannot find any .
 

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
It is Asus laptop with fresh install of windows 7 (realtek audio).
IE was working fine and I never update the drivers for any hardware.
 

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
In safe mode , it is exactly the same.
I also try to create a new user profile and IE still the same.
 

hocapoca

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
49
So I guess there is no way to fix this problem unless I reinstall windows 7 ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top