1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE 8 32 bit not loading.

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by hocapoca, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    I was refer to here form a malware forum.

    http://forums.techguy.org/malware-r...connecting-homepage-hijack-5.html#post7327404

    I have problem with loading any pages from IE 8 32 bit from windows 7 64 bit new laptop 2-3 weeks ago.

    When open IE 8 32 bit. The page will be blank with the tab showing connecting.
    But nothing would load. Homepage will not open even if I manually type in a web address. Weird thing is that when go to tools/internet options , it won't open it.
    Many of the options are gray out ex. Help/About IE Help/Internet Explorer help
    Here is the picture attachment I upload earlier.

    http://attachments.techguy.org/attac...ie-regular.jpg

    If I run it as Admin, then I can actually open internet option under tools. but the page is still blank.
    Because IE8 32 bit is the default for live messenger, so when clicking url hyperlink from messenger. Not even an IE window pop up.

    Firefox and IE 64 bit is loading everything fine.
    I tried remove IE 8 and reinstall it again, reset IE settings, reset my router, remove symantec with removal tools, running MSRT from microsoft, virus scan, running script according to this site.
    Nothing works so far.

    http://social.answers.microsoft.com.../thread/e312e580-1cbc-496b-8c6b-b69b8535a7bb/

    Any input would be helpful. Thank you
     
  2. helpful

    helpful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Does ie run properly in safe mode?

    * Go to Start > Accessories > Run
    * Type iexplore -extoff
    * Press Enter
     
  3. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Same thing in safe mode.
    try iexplore -extoff and still not loading anything.

    I even try to create different user and that didn't work too
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try the Fix IE Utility. It will re-register around 89 dll & ocx files.
     
  5. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    I ran the utility then restart.
    Still no change on IE.
     
  6. helpful

    helpful

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Have you tried running system file checker?

    * Go to Start > Accessories > Command Prompt (right click and Run as Administrator)
    * Type sfc /scannow
    * Press Enter

    Open Notepad

    * Go to Start > Accessories > Notepad(right click and Run as Administrator)
    * File > Open > %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log
    * Press Enter

    search and post any lines containing these strings:

    Cannot repair member file file details
    Repaired file
    Repairing corrupted file
     
  7. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    After scan it says Windows resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.

    Searched for those 3 strings and cannot find any .
     
  8. NeonFx

    NeonFx Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
  9. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    It is Asus laptop with fresh install of windows 7 (realtek audio).
    IE was working fine and I never update the drivers for any hardware.
     
  10. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,148
  11. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    In safe mode , it is exactly the same.
    I also try to create a new user profile and IE still the same.
     
  12. hocapoca

    hocapoca Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    So I guess there is no way to fix this problem unless I reinstall windows 7 ?
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916521

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice