IE nagging message at startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Look in Tools in IE7 for options to disable the startup message.
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Sorry but I don't have IE7 installed yet I'm waiting for the bugs to go away .......please wait for someone who has to come along.....
 
Joined
Feb 12, 1999
Messages
1,220
Bonk - Just out of curiosity. If you don't have IE7 installed how do you know there is an option to disable the startup message? ;) :D

HipHoper - Do you get this message when you start IE7 or when you start Windows?
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Try this from an open IE7

Tools -> Internet Options ->Advanced ->Reset Internet Explorer Settings (Towards Bottom) -> Click Reset Button

exit out and reboot the computer
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2005
Messages
31
That looks like the type of message you would get if you tried to run it and passed bad arguments on the command line or through a shortcut. Are you running it from the originally installed shortcut or did you create a new shortcut on the desktop, etc.?

If so, see if there are any command line arguments specified in that shortcut. If there are any other places to run it from such as the Quick Launch, Start Menu, etc. try those and see if you get the same errors.
 

HipHoper

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
108
Ratboy said:
Bonk - Just out of curiosity. If you don't have IE7 installed how do you know there is an option to disable the startup message? ;) :D

HipHoper - Do you get this message when you start IE7 or when you start Windows?
Yes when windows starts
 

HipHoper

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
108
ozrom1e said:
Try this from an open IE7

Tools -> Internet Options ->Advanced ->Reset Internet Explorer Settings (Towards Bottom) -> Click Reset Button

exit out and reboot the computer
Yes I actually did that but it turned out to be not a solution Thank you(y)
 

HipHoper

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
108
doyle.jack said:
That looks like the type of message you would get if you tried to run it and passed bad arguments on the command line or through a shortcut. Are you running it from the originally installed shortcut or did you create a new shortcut on the desktop, etc.?

If so, see if there are any command line arguments specified in that shortcut. If there are any other places to run it from such as the Quick Launch, Start Menu, etc. try those and see if you get the same errors.
It doesn't show up when I launch the application, it pops up the same time the taskbar icons are being loaded even if I don't use it. At the begining I thought it was a bunch of shorcuts that you might use to use some of the new features in IE7. I've tried to use some of the commands like
Code:
 /help         Displays this message
or the others. If you just take a look at the pic I uploaded you will immedaitely notice that they are commands but I don't how or where to use them. I just want to disable this nagging message.

Thank you all..
 
Joined
Feb 12, 1999
Messages
1,220
HipHoper,

Those appear to be command-line switches that you can use when running the IE7 installation. Check the Startup tab of MSCONFIG for the IE7 setup file. It may be something similar to: IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu.exe

If you don't see anything there and you are comfortable making changes to the Registry, go to the following keys and look for the IE7 setup file listed in the right-hand pane:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

If you still don't see anything try re-installing IE7.
 

HipHoper

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
108
Ratboy said:
HipHoper,

Those appear to be command-line switches that you can use when running the IE7 installation. Check the Startup tab of MSCONFIG for the IE7 setup file. It may be something similar to: IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu.exe

If you don't see anything there and you are comfortable making changes to the Registry, go to the following keys and look for the IE7 setup file listed in the right-hand pane:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

If you still don't see anything try re-installing IE7.
None of them found even after re-installing IE7 :confused:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top