1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE: Out of Memory at Line: 56

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sjm182, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sjm182

    sjm182 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    I keep getting this pop-up when clicking on videos or various other sites that I have always run - never had a problem with memory before... is there anything I can do to fix it, or anything that may have happened to start this issue?
    Thanks!
    I have Windows XP Home Edition SP 2
     
  2. lavazza

    lavazza

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/126962 "Out of Memory" error message appears when you have a large number of programs running
     
  3. sjm182

    sjm182 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks, I've seen that, but was wondering if anyone had any other suggestions since I'd rather avoid changing the registry key and this is a new problem with sites I've used before and only running 3 sites at once (way less than I've used in the past!).
    But thanks for the input. Anyone else have any suggestions?
     
  4. lavazza

    lavazza

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    The 'registry key fix' is a rather blunt tool, so I'm not surprised you're reluctant... plus... it's for when the problem occurs when
    If your viewing a number of sites in a tabbed browser, then that counts as ONE program

    Qs:

    1. Which browser(s) do you use?
    2. When clicking on a link, do you use tabs or a new window?
      • Has the problem EVER occured when you have had only one program running
      • If so - what was the program and what size file(s) were loaded?
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
  6. sjm182

    sjm182 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    thank you both lavazza and kiwiguy.
    First, Kiwi: that seems to made sense as it often happened when I was looking at videos. I'll update my flash player and see what happens!
    Next Lavazza: to answer your questions -
     
  7. sjm182

    sjm182 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    oops, hit enter by accident! Anyway, to answer your questions:
    1. I use Internet Explorer 7
    2. I use tabs when clicking on a link
    3. A. This has happened with only one program running
    B. The program was a video based site, but I'm really not sure the size of the file, sorry.
     
  8. newgene

    newgene

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Had the same problem. It seems to be a bug with the new Flash version 9.xx. Make sure your security level is not set too high. I set mine to "medium" and have not had the message since.
    Cheers
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591447