1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE "Pauses" on Particular Actions

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by CyBerAliEn, Jan 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    Recently I have encountered some problems with Internet Explorer that were not a problem before. I realized this problem nearly immediately after I got Norton Anti-Virus and Internet Security installed and setup.

    Internet Explorer works perfect, but I have noticed the following problems:

    1.) If I right click on a link, and choose OPEN IN A NEW WINDOW, IE will "freeze up". If I leave it alone for about 1-2 minutes, and come back to it, it will have been unfrozen but the new window will not have come up. I often do this to open some links so that I do not get into a new site and have to have troubles going BACK.

    2.) If I click on certain links which are run by JavaScript (have only appeared to have encountered this kind of problem trying to download new wallpaper from http://www.webshots.com when I click the link to download it), it will also pause up. In terms of WebShots however, it will pause for approx. 4 minutes or so, then suddenly the download will start (as if it were somehow delayed for some reason).

    3.) Some links are setup on sites to load up in a new and different window, such as a link on this site to a URL put in a post, and if I click on the link, I get the exact same kind of pause and unpause problem as with #1.


    Please advise me on how to fix this problem. Attached is an image showing the version of IE I use if it is of any help.


    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
  3. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    Attached is the TXT.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    Well... anyone know how to "solve" this?
     
  5. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    Sorry for the delay, not sure how I missed your post :rolleyes:

    Posting the Startup results here -

    StartupList report, 1/18/2003, 2:02:40 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\[temp]\2003-01-18 Startup List\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\PackethSvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\SymProxySvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    C:\Program Files\Compaq\EAB\EabServr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2000\Office\1033\OLFSNT40.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\ATRACK.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\urlmap.exe
    C:\[temp]\2003-01-18 Startup List\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Common Startup:
    [C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
    Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft FrontPage 2000\Office\OSA9.EXE
    Symantec Fax Starter Edition Port.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2000\Office\1033\OLFSNT40.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ATIModeChange = Ati2mdxx.exe
    AtiPTA = atiptaxx.exe
    SynTPLpr = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    SynTPEnh = C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    eabconfg.cpl = C:\Program Files\Compaq\EAB\EabServr.exe /Start
    srmclean = C:\Cpqs\Scom\srmclean.exe
    TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot
    Cpqset = c:\compaq\cpqsetup\cpqset.exe
    PrinTray = C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\2\printray.exe
    iamapp = C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    NAV Agent = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - c:\windows\googletoolbar.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}
    (no name) - c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job
    Registration reminder 1.job
    Registration reminder 2.job
    Registration reminder 3.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Symantec AntiVirus scanner]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\avsniff.dll
    CODEBASE = http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab

    [OPUCatalog Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\opuc.dll
    CODEBASE = http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab

    [{8EDAD21C-3584-4E66-A8AB-EB0E5584767D}]
    CODEBASE = http://toolbar.google.com/data/GoogleActivate.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\iuctl.dll
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37602.537650463

    [YahooYMailTo Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\ymmapi.dll
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/ymail/ymmapi.dll

    [Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\rufsi.dll
    CODEBASE = http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,180 bytes
    Report generated in 0.110 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    Np with the Startups...but one/few programs can be disabled.

    Try this -

    Start->Run->msconfig [enter]

    Click on the Startup tab and uncheck -

    TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot

    Click Apply, then Ok.

    Not sure about the RAM/Processor. I'm just guessing its Norton Internet Security thats taking up a lot of memory, probably causing the problem with IE too. Disable NIS too and see if things are any better.

    Anyway download Spybot from here . Run the program. See if it finds any spyware/adware. If found remove/relete everything.
     
  7. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    I will try it.

    But what exactly is the program that I will be disabling?

    As for the RAM/Processor, it should not be a problem. This is just my laptop with the problem (don't have Norton on my desktop PC anyway), and as you can see in my signature, my laptop has 2.4ghz Pentium 4, 512mb RAM. If that helps any.
     
  8. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    The program that I want you to disable is Real Player.

    Did you try an IE repair?
     
  9. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    Have not had any time yet today to really get this done. As for IE, I did do the repair and a new install; which did not fix the problem. I feel the problem might be with Norton because I do have it setup to block out scripts, or to ask me whether or not to allow/block. But I do not want to disable this feature.

    I will be back here around 3:30pm US Mountain time tomorrow and should be able to try the RealPlayer thing then. But if you can come with anything else between now and then, you got some time.
     
  10. pvc9

    pvc9

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,427
    I know you want to use the Norton feature but just for a trial disable it and use IE. See if things are better. :rolleyes: Just a trial!
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Try running the regsvr32 commands covered in this "new window" thread; it often fixes the issue.

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=110382

    Also, Norton Internet Security has a "Privacy" feature that interferes with many sites, particularly "secure" ones; try disabling that.

    This running process as I understand it, gets installed with AOL:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\PackethSvc.exe

    Yet you do not seem to be on AOL from what I can see. I'd try doing a ctrl-alt-del and "end-tasking" it to see if it makes any difference. If it does help to end-task it, you might look for it in your XP services profile and try setting it to disabled.
     
  12. CyBerAliEn

    CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,209
    I checked out and did the stuff recommended on that thread and no luck.

    Unlike they seem to say (where the window actually opens but is blank), on mine the original IE just freezes for awhile and the new window never pops up to begin with.

    And as for that process (program), I will try that. Not sure how that would be there since I do not use AOL or have anything AOL on my laptop.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113832

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice